PDA

View Full Version : Lightroom 2.0 ND Grad Filter



cdifoto
09-02-2008, 10:54 AM
I think I'm sold. Let's ignore the quality of the shot itself, shall we? :rolleyes:

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a304/cdifoto/gear/grad.jpg

TheWengler
09-02-2008, 10:57 AM
Yeah, it works pretty good. Saves time from having to blend multiple edits together.

cdifoto
09-02-2008, 11:05 AM
My 2nd go at it. It's kind of fiddly and laggy but works nice all things considered.

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a304/cdifoto/gear/grad2.jpg

cdifoto
09-02-2008, 11:06 AM
Yeah, it works pretty good. Saves time from having to blend multiple edits together.
Definitely.

FLiPMaRC
09-02-2008, 11:07 AM
:cool: Nice Don.


I've also found a set of free presets: http://www.beardsworth.co.uk/downloads/lightroom/Graduated_filters.zip

cdifoto
09-02-2008, 11:20 AM
Thanks for the link flip.

FLiPMaRC
09-02-2008, 11:31 AM
Thanks for the link flip.

:cool: You're welcome.

There's actually a set of 70 graduated filter presets from Sean McCormack (http://lightroom-blog.com/2008/07/lrb-graduated-filter-presets.html) for a fee of $7.75.

Honsetly, I don't know what I'd use 70 graduated presets for :confused: :eek: It'll just make me crazy choosing which one to use :p

cdifoto
09-02-2008, 11:38 AM
Hah me either. I don't even use many of the free "regular" ones I have. I'm not even solid on moving from 1.4 yet. I like the ND grad but it's not a compelling reason to pay the upgrade fee.

adam75south
09-02-2008, 12:14 PM
i love the grad filter, and the selective brush thingy....i don't think the spot removal tool is as good as lightroom 1.4 though. seems like everything i try to "heal" shows....i mean, you can see where i tried to heal it. anyone else run into this? especially with dust spots in the sky.

cdifoto
09-02-2008, 12:22 PM
I've had that happen if I wasn't careful about my source. I tend to use heal instead of clone though....they seem to do pretty much the same thing, except heal actually blends better. Not that I use either one of them much.

24Peter
09-02-2008, 01:06 PM
Nice Don. Is this different than creating a new layer in CS3, use the gradient tool to create a gradient on the sky and trying different blend modes to bring it down?

cdifoto
09-02-2008, 01:16 PM
Nice Don. Is this different than creating a new layer in CS3, use the gradient tool to create a gradient on the sky and trying different blend modes to bring it down?
I have no idea of the underlying technology but it doesn't use layers. I've never used the CS3 method either...in fact I usually just try to balance it all out with flash & say hellwithit beyond that.

Mark_48
09-02-2008, 01:31 PM
The added post crop vignette function works pretty nicely also if you're into that kind of thing. A bit more control than with the lens correction method.

michaelb
09-02-2008, 03:39 PM
That's pretty sweet Don. And I was using ND grad filters all weekend long! :D

cdifoto
09-03-2008, 01:14 AM
Yeah Mark I was playing with it a bit. I'm sorta phasing out my vignetting for the most part though.

I'm liking it michael. I went ahead and bought the upgrade since I found a coupon for 15% off. Figured I may as well jump before it expired. The camera profile neutral gives better color than the ACR default too, IMHO.

FLiPMaRC
09-03-2008, 08:41 AM
Yeah Mark I was playing with it a bit. I'm sorta phasing out my vignetting for the most part though.

I'm liking it michael. I went ahead and bought the upgrade since I found a coupon for 15% off. Figured I may as well jump before it expired. The camera profile neutral gives better color than the ACR default too, IMHO.

Are you using the DNG beta profiles? http://labs.adobe.com/wiki/index.php/DNG_Profiles

http://localhostr.com/files/ca4477/Picture+1+copy.jpg

http://localhostr.com/files/ec6c2b/Picture+2+copy.jpg

http://localhostr.com/files/d5e480/Picture+3+copy.jpg

http://localhostr.com/files/7e3572/acr.jpg

http://localhostr.com/files/7dcdbb/canon.jpg

JMWallace
09-03-2008, 08:42 AM
i love the grad filter, and the selective brush thingy....i don't think the spot removal tool is as good as lightroom 1.4 though. seems like everything i try to "heal" shows....i mean, you can see where i tried to heal it. anyone else run into this? especially with dust spots in the sky.

Not really had that issue. Most just hugely irritating lag when using the brush tool. But that grad filter tool is killer.


Hah me either. I don't even use many of the free "regular" ones I have. I'm not even solid on moving from 1.4 yet. I like the ND grad but it's not a compelling reason to pay the upgrade fee.

Don, I am pretty sure this wasn't in the Beta and Peter you might find this useful for your model stuff, but the "Skin Softener" works GREAT!!

Samples below are rough, but this is JUST using that "Skin Softener" brush...nothing else.

BEFORE
39418

AFTER
39419

cdifoto
09-03-2008, 08:59 AM
Yeah I've had the DNGs installed from the get-go. I've also played with the skin softener already. The brush can be a little laggy on my laptop though.

adam75south
09-03-2008, 10:37 AM
i pretty much love everything about it except the new heal brush...it just doesn't work as good with the sky. still works great on skin. in 1.4 i could just select any part of the sky that was clean and uniform(dark or light) and it would blend and look natural. in the 2 version it just puts a dark circle...so you pretty much have to clone(and i'm talking heal tool) a spot that's identical. i'd LOOOOVE to see the patch tool from photoshop added. that's my FAVORITE healing tool.

and peter, to answer your question, i doubt it's much different than photoshop except it doesn't take up space like a .psd will(you're talking 50+MB as opposed to a small change to the database). plus if you're working on 300 pics, you can go from one to the other sooo much faster and easier than with photoshop. and let's not forget syncing settings, keywording, and rating/filtering.

droopy1592
09-03-2008, 12:23 PM
Is there a link for free grad ND filters?

FLiPMaRC
09-04-2008, 08:08 AM
Is there a link for free grad ND filters?

;) http://www.beardsworth.co.uk/downloads/lightroom/Graduated_filters.zip

cdifoto
09-04-2008, 10:10 AM
I'm liking the skin tones from LR 2 as well.

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a304/cdifoto/wedding/2008-08-16-0029.jpg

And the colors. Ignore the fact that it's a ghetto toy.

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a304/cdifoto/2008-09-04-0013.jpg

Nickcanada
09-04-2008, 10:14 AM
^^^ nice work Don. I agree nice skin tones.

cdifoto
09-04-2008, 10:21 AM
Thanks Nick. It's more in line with what I see from DPP, but this way I can skip the whole "load and paste recipe" BS to get the 10D files looking like the 1D II's, obviously in addition to the myriad of other features one uses Lightroom for.

Oh and another thing that I'm reeeeally liking is the brush for localized exposure adjustment. I can "paint" back my highlight recovery where needed now rather than having to find a balance between exposure and contrast. I intentionally let most of the riding toy blow out, then dialed the exposure down .29 stops overall, and painted back the parts that were still blown out. I didn't do a perfect job on it but new tools need be practiced. I do know one thing - this brush will be a major boon to wedding dresses.

Nickcanada
09-04-2008, 10:34 AM
I love that brush thing too....

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k320/livelifelivepics/CSM%20last%20show/IMG_8193.jpg

cdifoto
09-04-2008, 10:40 AM
Nice. I just wish it wasn't so laggy.

Nickcanada
09-04-2008, 10:58 AM
It crashes on me sometimes when I'm using the grad filter tool.

cdifoto
09-04-2008, 10:59 AM
I haven't had it crash on me (knock on wood), but it just lags behind - sometimes quite a bit. I suspect there will be dot releases to address new feature speed issues. No worries.

shoey
09-04-2008, 01:08 PM
What are you running it on?

I'm on Vista x64, and it works like a dream. It is a brand new machine though :)

cdifoto
09-04-2008, 01:32 PM
I'm on a Dell D820 with Core2 Duo @ 2.16GHz and 2GB 667MHz RAM on XP Professional SP3. I think I need to up it to 4GB RAM so I have about 3.5 at my disposal. Pretty sure that's the weak link since the brushes run well at first and then start to choke after awhile.

shoey
09-05-2008, 02:30 AM
I'm on a Dell D820 with Core2 Duo @ 2.16GHz and 2GB 667MHz RAM on XP Professional SP3. I think I need to up it to 4GB RAM so I have about 3.5 at my disposal. Pretty sure that's the weak link since the brushes run well at first and then start to choke after awhile.
If you're not running x64 then more Ram won't make too much difference as each program is limited to 2gb. It might help a little though.

You can also try turning on the 3gb switch option to use more page memory.

http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system/platform/server/PAE/PAEmem.mspx

NewTekBuzz
09-05-2008, 03:34 AM
I am running it on 64bit also. 4gb of ram and 10k drives make all the dif. :) I think the brush is the best new option.

Tim

FLiPMaRC
09-05-2008, 06:57 AM
:cool: http://thedigitalphotographyconnection.com/LFDP_player.php?ID=74

http://thedigitalphotographyconnection.com/LFDP_player.php?ID=75

aparmley
09-05-2008, 12:08 PM
Interesting results Don. I haven't tried the Grad filter yet. I'm going to have to play with it now though. I love the adjustment brush - its so powerful. I ponied up the money right away - but I'm a nerd like that.

cdifoto
09-05-2008, 12:35 PM
Interesting results Don. I haven't tried the Grad filter yet. I'm going to have to play with it now though. I love the adjustment brush - its so powerful. I ponied up the money right away - but I'm a nerd like that.
It only took me a couple hours after playing with the trial to fork over my cash. :rolleyes:

BBPhoto
09-05-2008, 12:48 PM
I haven't tried the filter yet but I'm definitely getting motivated!