PDA

View Full Version : going to the smokey's and rock city in september. need some advice??

trailrider894
08-21-2008, 08:45 PM
so i'm going to the smokey mountain's in tennese in september and i plan on visiting rock city (the place were you can c 7 state's from one place) and some other place's in nashville,tn like music row. and i'm wondering i'm pretty new to photography. but i really wanna get some tip's about taking picture's of scenery and stuff.???

kgosden
08-21-2008, 10:46 PM
September is a bit too early in the area for fall color, but the views should still be great. There are plenty of waterfalls and streams to capture assuming rainfall has been good. Cades Cove is a classic area for old buildings and meadow shots. You don't say what type of camera you are using or if you are willing to hike a bit. The best of the Smokies are the views from some of the high ridges. These two show why they are called the 'Smokies'. The first is a view at Charlie's Bunion on the Appalachian Trail. The second is from sunset near LeConte Lodge.

trailrider894
08-22-2008, 07:23 AM
well i don't have the camera yet cause i just can't find the right one in my price range. but i only want it to take scenery picture's. what kind do you have??

kgosden
08-22-2008, 08:15 AM
Those were taken with a high end point & shoot Olympus C5050Z. Any camera that offers manual controls would be best, but I am guessing from your post that you are not going to be ready to use those features just yet. I would highly recommend that you only look at cameras that offer optical image stabilization and have a lens that can go as wide as 28mm (in 35mm terms). For landscape work and indoor group shots a little wider will always be more useful than a little more reach at the telephoto end. Most of today's P & S cameras suffer from nasty noise at higher ISO's. Even with that I have been partial to the Panasonic line since all their cameras have stablization and most have a very nice wide angle zoom.