PDA

View Full Version : Canon 10D, 20D, 300D or Nikon D70

MikeA
01-17-2005, 01:35 PM
New to the forum. Sorry if this has been covered before in great length, but I'm an amateur photographer and I'm looking to buy a dLSR. Was going to buy the Nikon D70, but the more research I do, the more questions arise. Now I'm getting overwhelmed. Taking any and all recommendations on the above cameras (Canon 10D, 20D, 300D or Nikon D70). Yes I've read reviews on them all. Perhaps I should just go to a retail store and have some sales person make recommendations. I'd thought I'd start here with yours first.

TIA

Mike

Rhys
01-17-2005, 01:43 PM
New to the forum. Sorry if this has been covered before in great length, but I'm an amateur photographer and I'm looking to buy a dLSR. Was going to buy the Nikon D70, but the more research I do, the more questions arise. Now I'm getting overwhelmed. Taking any and all recommendations on the above cameras (Canon 10D, 20D, 300D or Nikon D70). Yes I've read reviews on them all. Perhaps I should just go to a retail store and have some sales person make recommendations. I'd thought I'd start here with yours first.

TIA

Mike

I'd say the 20D is a lot better than the D70 and has cheaper lenses. Given the choice of the lot of them, I'd go for the 20D.

Personally, I'm not a great fan of the DSLRs as they don't have WYSIWYG LCD viewfinders. Instead they rely upon users using massive RAW files and correcting the camera's errors at home. I'd rather use smaller JPEG files, see what I'm getting and get the best.

D70FAN
01-17-2005, 03:42 PM

TIA

Mike

I have had a D70 for over 9 months, and really like it. I bought it instead of the 300D last March and have never looked back. I suppose you could draw a similar line by choosing the 20D vs. the D70. But in reality, beyond the whiz-bang of 2 more MP and 2 more frames per second, these cameras are very similar. If you can get a super deal (<$1000) on the 10D then that may work as well.