PDA

View Full Version : Future MLB star

sparkie1263
04-23-2008, 07:09 PM
My granddaughter with her brothers glove. Should I have used a fill flash?

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3202/2437997570_91bfa4fef5.jpg

DonSchap
04-23-2008, 07:42 PM
Frank,

I tried my hand at using the usual adjustments ... and think I was able to reduce some of the hard sun flare on her cheeks and forehead, without killing the color in the shot.

Original

After curves, -7 desaturation, slight overall darkening and contrast adjustment

I am wondering if a polarizer might have improved the shot a little. Help get rid of the glare. Might be worth experimenting with.

sparkie1263
04-23-2008, 07:49 PM
Thanks Don I will try to fix in PS and see what I can do. I am still learning how to fix my pictures in PS.
Thanks again
Frank

DonSchap
04-23-2008, 08:00 PM
Half the battle is figuring out what the image needs ... what initially hit me was the contrast ... direct sunlight really is hard on a sensor, because of the intense changes from bright to sudden dark shadow. So ... seeing that, I knew I had to use "curves" to try and reduce the highlights as far as I dare and then lighten the shadows as far the other way, while trying to maintain the center. It can be tricky, because the contrast gets goofy if you go too far.

I then go for the hue and saturation ... to reduce reddening ... and distribute the overall color in a neutral way. Then again adjusting the contrast to try and soften the change between dark and light. Finally, a bit of sharpening to regain some of the lost texture to the contrast adjustments.

If you look, you will see that her perceived eye-color improved enormously from this technique. The eyes are usually very important in portrait shots. You get the eyes right, you've got your shot. Perhaps I could have gone in and done a slightly better shift, but for a raw edit and go, this wasn't that far off.