PDA

View Full Version : C-765 blurring

Doug
01-10-2005, 02:57 AM
I have been using an Olympus D-50 for a few months, and am happy with it except I wanted more zoom. So I just purchased an Olympus C-765 with a 10x zoom. But I get a lot more blurring with this camera, expecially with indoor shots. I just tried to take pictures at my son's basketball game a couple days ago, and almost all the shots are blurred or grainy. Is this typical with all ultra zoom cameras, or only the C-765. I am thinking about returning it and looking into something else. Thanks in advance for everybody's help.

John_Reed
01-10-2005, 07:05 AM
I have been using an Olympus D-50 for a few months, and am happy with it except I wanted more zoom. So I just purchased an Olympus C-765 with a 10x zoom. But I get a lot more blurring with this camera, expecially with indoor shots. I just tried to take pictures at my son's basketball game a couple days ago, and almost all the shots are blurred or grainy. Is this typical with all ultra zoom cameras, or only the C-765. I am thinking about returning it and looking into something else. Thanks in advance for everybody's help.You're voicing a common complaint about cameras used for shooting indoor sporting events or concerts. You're trying to shoot long-zoom photos in relatively low light of moving subjects. So you're likely to experience motion blur, either by the subjects or by you, the shooter, or both. You can improve things by increasing shutter speed, but only so much within the "consumer" camera spectrum. To maximize shutter speed:

1) Use highest ISO. Shots will likely be "grainy," but this is a form of digital "noise" which can usually be corrected with programs like "Noise Ninja." You said that some of your shots were "grainy." Were they otherwise sharp? If so, they're recoverable.

2) Use maximum Aperture. For the the C-765, this is f3.7 at full zoom. You may need to set Aperture priority to make that choice, but do that.