PDA

View Full Version : Photo/Camera Class vs. Book

somimom
03-18-2008, 02:24 PM
Newbie here. I was wondering how most newbies learn the ins and outs of everything. Did you learn via a class and book or just one or the other? I'm having a tough time finding a class in my area. I've heard about online classes but are those good? Recommendations? Book recommendations? If there is one out there that is a MUST have, please tell me. I've been reading all these forums and reviews on various books on Amazon but can't decide. I live in the Northern Colorado area--Fort Collins if you know of any classes this way. Maybe a lot of it is just experience and trial and error by just getting out a working with your camera?

bauerman
03-18-2008, 02:26 PM
Understanding Exposure - Petersen

Great book on taking manual control of your photography.

I also liked "The Digital Photography Book" by Scott Kelby.

somimom
03-18-2008, 02:32 PM
Thanks so much Jared. The Petersen book was top on my list. Good to know I'm on the right track! :)

tim11
03-18-2008, 03:25 PM
All I learned I learned from one basic photography book, tips from camera forums and photo magazines; most can be borrowed free from local libraries. Shoot, experiment, study the effects and exif data.

Bynx
03-18-2008, 04:22 PM
Since digital cameras have a view screen you can get instant results for your settings. Your eyes are the best teacher. If the picture doesnt look right do it again until it does. You dont need a book. Its not like you are guessing what the pic will look like and you have to wait a week to get the pics back. Shoot, shoot, shoot and dont waste money on an art class.

tim11
03-18-2008, 05:14 PM