PDA

View Full Version : Motion Blur on photos

lovrin
03-09-2008, 08:06 PM
Hi.

I'm a new photographer and I would really like to learn how to get motion blur. I saw a certain picture that I would like to learn how to get.
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/9/96/Freak_Out%2C_Oblivion%2C_night.jpg/495px-Freak_Out%2C_Oblivion%2C_night.jpg

and

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/a/a6/Long_exposure_at_the_fair.jpg/250px-Long_exposure_at_the_fair.jpg

An image like that where one part of the photograph is blurred and the rest is normal. I know something like this should be simple, but I'm quite confused actually. If you could give me all the information on what to set my aperture and shutter speed to to atleast get results where a certain part of a picture is blurred and the rest is normal would be great. Also, I can't seem to get a background or foreground blur on any of my pictures so if you could help me with that also, I would honestly appreciate it. Thank you in advance for all of your help.

I am using a Sony Cybershot DSC-H3.

SONYNUT
03-09-2008, 09:09 PM
low speed...tight aperature..tripod

griptape
03-10-2008, 05:06 AM
^What he said. Shutter speed of around a second (give or take), low ISO, and whatever aperture gives you the correct exposure from there. And of course you'll need a tripod.

Bynx
03-10-2008, 02:03 PM
In both pics the objects in motion have coloured lights. Using your flash will illuminate the foreground normally but using a slower shutter speed of around 1/10th of a second will keep the shutter open longer than the flash and record the moving light. So its the comination of flash and lit object that creates a real interesting photo. By the way, the speed of the lit object(s) will determine the actual shutter speed you need to use to show the movement.

lovrin
03-10-2008, 02:29 PM
Thank you for your help guys.