PDA

View Full Version : Help Choosing A Camera for Good Prints?

polina
02-22-2008, 04:46 PM
Which camera should I buy?

I would REALLY appreciate ANY advice on which cameras to look at (or any other tips, considerations, suggestions) as I am fairly new to digital photography... THANK YOU!
---------------------------------------------

Budget
* What budget have you allocated for buying this camera? Please be as specific as possible.
I am willing to pay more for a good camera, but am hoping to get something in the $300 range (I'm not sure if this is realistic for what I want!)

Size
* What size camera are you looking for? Or does size not matter at all to you?
Ideally, something on the smaller side that can fit in a pocket if possible (ie, compact).

Features

How many megapixels will suffice for you?
The more the better since I want to be able to PRINT photos (at least 7, but more would be better)

* What optical zoom will you need? (None, Standard = 3x-4x, Ultrazoom = 10x-12x, Other - Specify)
NONE.

* How important is “image quality” to you? (Rate using a scale of 1-10)

Do you care for manual controls?
YES!

General Usage

* What will you generally use the camera for?
Fine art photography & daily documentation.

* Will you be making big prints of your photos or not?
YES (I'd like to be able to).

Will you be shooting a lot of indoor photos or low light photos?
Probably.

Will you be shooting sports and/or action photos?
A little.

Miscellaneous

Are there particular brands you like or hate? NONE.
Are there particular models you already have in mind?
Canon Elph, Lumix DMC-FX100, or other Lumix models.

(If applicable) Do you need any of the following special features? (Wide Angle, Image Stabilization, Weatherproof, Hotshoe, Rotating LCD)
I'd love a 28mm wide angle if possible.

THANK YOU for your help!!!

AndyfromVA
02-22-2008, 08:05 PM
The Canon SD870IS is small, takes great photos and has the 28mm wide angle capability.

KCook
02-22-2008, 10:06 PM