PDA

View Full Version : Good cheap light meter?

JRodriguez315
01-04-2005, 12:43 PM
I'm trying to set up a home-based studio and I have some lights, a background and am in the market for a flash meter. Any recommendations will be appreciated. :)

D70FAN
01-04-2005, 01:48 PM
I'm trying to set up a home-based studio and I have some lights, a background and am in the market for a flash meter. Any recommendations will be appreciated. :)

Gossen and Weston are the only two that come to mind. Check at your local camera store, preferably one that sells used equipment. They are relatively inexpensive these days, and a decent meter should run you about $50.

If your camera is digital, and has manual modes, then you probably don't need (or want) a light meter. Even without manual modes you probably don't need a meter. Just check the white balance, to compensate for your lighting, and go.

If you are using a dSLR, then you really (really) don't need a light meter. When I shoot film (pretty rare these days) I use my digital camera to check settings. :D Kind of an expensive light meter, but it works very well. ;)

Rhys
01-04-2005, 01:53 PM

I have a little hand-held incident-light flash meter that I bought years ago, from Jessops. It was one of their own. Similar to the more expensive meters but calibrated in single stops as opposed to 1/3rd stops. I had to tweak the pot a little because it rendered underexposed photos but it's been fine for years. I can't remember the last time I used it! My other light meter is a Soviet Leningrad 8 ambient light meter with a selenium cell. That's perfect too.

You can probably pick both of those cheaply in camera shops.

glowka98
01-26-2005, 12:00 PM
"If your camera is digital, and has manual modes, then you probably don't need (or want) a light meter. Even without manual modes you probably don't need a meter. Just check the white balance, to compensate for your lighting, and go."