PDA

View Full Version : Which camera for night photography?

eka
08-04-2004, 04:28 AM
Hi there everyone,

I intend to buy a digital camera for my own and I’m very much interested in night photography. Since I’m a newbie in this photography thing (especially with the digital one), can anybody help me in giving advice on choosing a good digital camera for night photography purpose?
The digital camera options are : Canon G5; Sony CS F717; Nikon CP 5700; Minolta Dimage 7Hi; Olympus C-5060. What are the advantages and disadvantages of those cameras?
Does anybody have example images of night photography using each of those digital cameras?

Thank you VERY MUCH in advance! And I’m sorry for my bad English (English is not my native).
--Eka
:)

ruben
08-04-2004, 08:31 AM
Hi there everyone,

I intend to buy a digital camera for my own and I知 very much interested in night photography. Since I知 a newbie in this photography thing (especially with the digital one), can anybody help me in giving advice on choosing a

I am fairly new myself but if you are new to digital photography your camera does not have to be very expensive in my opinion. From what I have learned so far, with night shots you will almost definetly need a tripod for like lights and city shots at night. Or else you will see a lot of tracers from cars and other lights which makes it look distorted. If you are taking pictures of nature and people, in my experience just using flash worked great for me at some what close distances. I did not need a tripod for those type of pictures. This is just my two cents, the senior members will give a lot more advice than I, I just joined :)

Have fun!

D70FAN
08-04-2004, 08:32 AM
Hi there everyone,

I intend to buy a digital camera for my own and I知 very much interested in night photography. Since I知 a newbie in this photography thing (especially with the digital one), can anybody help me in giving advice on choosing a good digital camera for night photography purpose?