PDA

View Full Version : Anything better than the Nikon D70

sherlock
12-31-2004, 11:26 PM
Hi,

I am an amateur landscape photographer looking for his first dSLR. I think I've narrowed it down to the Nikon D70 but I thought I would let Cannon dSLR owners tell me why another camera (such as the EOS 300D or 20D) is better than the D70. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Andrew S.

TenD
01-01-2005, 07:29 AM
You should buy the D70.
I am a Canon user and have been using Canon cameras since 1981. I got caught up in the huge Canon AE1 marketing campaign in the early 80s and that's what I bought. I am familiar with their product, and the way their product "thinks". When Canon introduced the EF system, because I was familiar with Canon, I continued with Canon. When digital became popular I had several Canon EF lenses in my collection so it made sense to buy another Canon body. So now I am a Canon guy.
If you are starting from scratch, any of the major digital camera systems will probably suit you fine. Nikon and Canon are the big players on the block, with Pentax, Sigma, Minolta, Fuji, etc. playing smaller but significant roles in the digital revolution.
I have done very little research outside of Canon, I am very happy with my system and see no reason to look elsewhere. Canon's lens selection is awesome, and their bodies are adequate tools with low noise, quick auto focus, and excellent image quality. Nikon offers virtually the same thing.

kave
01-01-2005, 09:21 AM
Dcresource: