PDA

View Full Version : CANON 400D vs NIKON D80

jcanon701
11-21-2007, 03:31 PM
I'm looking for the camera body ONLY - and i am a beginner.

Is the Nikon D80 worth the extra $200 dollars for the body?

a little advice would help, thanks!

fionndruinne
11-21-2007, 05:34 PM
Depends on what you want to do with it, dude.

Give us a better idea. There is seldom a "better" or "worse" camera in DSLRs; there is just a better or worse tool for the particular job.

And if you're a newbie you should look at some less expensive models to start out with. Say a Rebel XT/350D or a Nikon D40. Or a Pentax K100D, even an Olympus E-550.

TheWengler
11-21-2007, 05:49 PM
I'm with fionndruinne on his recommendations. The best beginner camera is probably the Nikon D40, the best deal is probably the Pentax K100D and since you're name is jcanon we'll throw the Canon XT into the mix. Also, I think he means the Olympus E-510. You should be seriously looking at the systems/lens offerings then picking the entry level camera from that system and using the rest of your budget to get a quality lens. If you do that then when you upgrade cameras you won't need to upgrade your lenses as well. These general "what is better?" type questions can't be answered because only you know what features you'll use. I doubt you're going to feel like you're missing anything if you get an entry level body. It's entirely possible that you buy the D80 but don't even use any of the features that it has over the D40.

fionndruinne
11-21-2007, 06:18 PM
Actually, I meant the E-500, which was a great deal a little while back, but doesn't seem to be priced like that now. The E-510 is priced just a little high for inclusion, and is a bit more toward the K10D/A100/400D range.