PDA

View Full Version : So what do you do and how did you get into photography?

herc182
11-16-2007, 02:04 AM
Thought it would be nice to know what you guys do and how you became obsessed with photos :D

I am a civil engineer in london (Victoria) and started my photography with a CANON (:eek:) APS film camera. It was ok for what it was and more than enough for me at that stage. I then bought (as a joke) a £45 0.3MP camera (yes thats right 0.3MP). It was a keyring type thing but i ended taking it with me to New york and mexico and taking pics with it. it was the most awful thing on the face of the planet. I could have sketched better. Needless to say when I tried to download the pics, it became corrupted and i lost a load of holiday snaps. not too happy....

I should mention that my brother got me into photography even if he did use shoddy equipment (canon :)). However, i lost all respect for him last weekend when we headed to new forrest to take some photos and he was snapping away on his canon 5D 50mm f1.4 on AUTO!!!!!!:eek::eek: I immediately called my mother and asked about the milkman and postman approximately 32 years and 9 months ago....

Then I got my first serious camera. The Panasonic FZ20 (thanks to Jeff for his glowing review). I loved this thing. Small, great pic quality and loved the lens. However four things made me upgrade it:

1 - iso performance. Looked like i was taking photos through bubble wrap.
2 - i picked the silver colour (please dont ask. I am still wondering whether I was drunk at the time)
3 - Auto focus hunted a lot in darker environments.
4 - Lack of good bokeh

Anyway, i mostly shot outdoors which was fine, and I took so many pics with it. I sold it on ebay with great sadness but to a fellow Portuguese countryman. I hope he can take good pictures on his farm with it :p