PDA

View Full Version : Pictures turn out fuzzy

albn
09-30-2007, 07:57 AM
I am new to these forums, and if this is in the wrong place, please forgive me.

The problem I am facing is most likely operator error because I am also new to digital cameras. Anyway, my wife has some handmade jewelry, and of course, detail and clarity are important. So I set my camera to macro with the default settings (I do not know what the other settings are because it looks too complicated). On the viewfinder they look alright, but when I place it in Photoshop to crop and spruce up, they look really fuzzy and just plain bad.

I tried other settings with no success.

Any ideas on how to reduce the fuzziness? The camera I have is a Panasonic DMC-FX-12.

Thanks.

D Thompson
09-30-2007, 08:02 AM
Can you post an example and the shot settings as far as aperture, shutter speed, and ISO? It will help diagnose the problem.

albn
09-30-2007, 08:06 AM
Can you post an example and the shot settings as far as aperture, shutter speed, and ISO? It will help diagnose the problem.

I can post a picture for you. It will take a few moments.

Aperture, shutter speed, ISO, what? That is all Greek to me. :( So there is more to this stuff than just point and shoot? Let me check the instruction manual again for these terms.

Sorry for the ignorance.

Edit: Here is a link to an example: http://dprkforum.com/necklace.jpg

Let's see if I got the terms right. I cannot seem to find the ISO, shutter speed or the aperture. I see W.Balance, sensitivty, aspect ratio, picture size, quality,af mode, burst, af assist lamp, d zoom and color mode.

D Thompson
09-30-2007, 08:40 AM
No problem. I pulled the settings from the exif data of the shot you posted. It appears it was shot at ISO100, 1/30th (shutter speed) @ f2.8 (aperture). I'm not familiar with your camera, but since you are shooting macro there are a few things you need to do.