PDA

View Full Version : Lens questions from new a100 owner

Don Wingate
09-10-2007, 10:30 AM
I just got an a100 with a sony 18-70 3.5-5.6 lens. I assume this is the kit lense that is supposed to be pretty bad. I am looking at upgrading, and I am pretty sure I am going to want something with more range for general use. I am looking at a couple lenses and wondered whether I could get some opinions about them, quality/price. I am totally new to DSLR photography, so I don't want to invest too heavily at this point.

One is a Konica Minolta AF DT Zoom 18-200mm for $400.
The other is Quantaray 18-200 f/3.5-6.3 DC for $275.

Could I go wrong with either of these lens? Is one or the other an especially good deal? Thanks!

DonSchap
09-10-2007, 11:25 AM
I just got an a100 with a sony 18-70 3.5-5.6 lens. I assume this is the kit lense that is supposed to be pretty bad. I am looking at upgrading, and I am pretty sure I am going to want something with more range for general use. I am looking at a couple lenses and wondered whether I could get some opinions about them, quality/price. I am totally new to DSLR photography, so I don't want to invest too heavily at this point.

One is a Konica Minolta AF DT Zoom 18-200mm for $400.
The other is Quantaray 18-200 f/3.5-6.3 DC for $275.

Could I go wrong with either of these lens? Is one or the other an especially good deal? Thanks!

If you truly want to go with a full featured and get the most bang for the buck, in that class of utility lens, go with the:

TAMRON AF18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di-II LD Aspherical (IF) This lens has a little added reach beyond the other two lenses you had mentioned and has won the following awards:

It truly is effective on the SONY A100. I know, I use it, personally, that way.

Don Wingate
09-10-2007, 12:04 PM
Thanks Don,