PDA

View Full Version : taking pictures of bright things

Shaft
08-20-2007, 12:53 PM
how do you succesfully take a picture of something that is very light? For instance if i were to take a picture of a beach with the sun in the picture, everything will become dark, except for the sun. same with taking pictures of a candle for example, the surroundings won't be visible, while all i can see is the fire. And ideas?

griptape
08-20-2007, 12:58 PM
Use your flash.

JLV
08-20-2007, 01:05 PM
Use spot metering and meter on a mid tone.

Shaft
08-20-2007, 01:12 PM
Use spot metering and meter on a amid tone.

and..how do you do that? I'm not that experienced in DSLR cameras, could you explain it step by step? I'd appreciate it a lot

No Control
08-20-2007, 01:40 PM
Shaft,

I think the easiest way for you to take pictures on a beach and have them properly exposed is to use exposure compensation. The problem you're having is that your camera's meter [the thing that sets the exposure] is seeing the sun and going "wow! that's really bright!" and setting an exposure value that's wrong for the rest of your image. but by using exposure compensation, usually a +/- button on your camera, you can tell the camera to make the image lighter or darker. Try setting +1 stop exposure compensation and see how that works for you.

JLV
08-20-2007, 05:12 PM
and..how do you do that? I'm not that experienced in DSLR cameras, could you explain it step by step? I'd appreciate it a lot

Since you have a DSLR you must have manual mode. In one of your menus you should be able to change metering to spot. While in one of the automatic modes put the spot on a mid tone. Note the F stop and shutter speed. Go to manual mode, and use these settings.

JLV
08-21-2007, 12:32 PM