PDA

View Full Version : Anyone tried third-party AC adapter on A80



Ausin
08-01-2004, 04:31 AM
Hi,

Has anyone connected a third-party AC Adapter to A80 (or other Canon A series) ? The Canon one rated 4.3 V and 1.5 A for output. I don't know why 1.5 A, that is quite a lot for a digicam. Also I thought a 4V or 4.5V adapter might work (doiesn't have to be exactly 4.3V, does it ?).

Any experience you had could be useful...

Thanks,

Ausin

Binliner
08-02-2004, 10:46 AM
Check the thread about the A75 adapter, the two cameras use the same adapter (ACK-600).

Ausin
08-03-2004, 01:31 AM
Thanks,

I just ordered the Unicross Adapter (it can give 4.5V at 2500mA), it should be OK for A80 and perhaps some other stuff around the house. I post here if I experience any problems...

Ausin

yachtonon
08-12-2004, 03:15 AM
I built a 1.5 Amp powersupply (using LM317) for the A80. I set the output at 4.3 v and checked this on a digital voltmeter 'at the camera'.
The camera did not work. Showed a red message "Change power pack" I think was the syntax.
I increased the voltage by 1/2 v increments and at 4.65 volts the Camera did not give this message any more.
The camera draws 80 mA at 4.65 V without the LCD. With the LCD there is an initial surge of current to 0.75 A and then settles to about 0.55 Amp.

Oddly the 4 x AA cells give 6 volts when brand new. It seem strange that the AC adapter is 4.3V ??

I was unable to get through to any Canon technical support as they have set up a kind of catch 22 Support which implies that the the "answer you are looking for must be in the FAQ's" I could not find an answer or get out of the loop. My postal code is in Malaysia which did not help either.

Ian

Ausin
08-19-2004, 02:52 AM
Hi,

The Unicross AC adaptor (mentioned above) with settings of 4.5V works fine on A80, it is very useful and not too expensive. (Small snag was finding the polarity because A80 manual doesn't say - or I couldn't find..., I used the + sign against TIP mark on adaptor and it works OK). :o

Ausin