PDA

View Full Version : first DC for new teen

veronika
07-30-2004, 12:35 PM
I want to buy a dc for my daughter's 13th birthday.

On one hand, I want something simple, perhaps a Kodak, so she understands the technology involved.

On the other hand, I'm an art director and enjoy film photography. I'm also new to digital. Poor quality images will drive me crazy.

Can I get the best of both worlds and pay under $300? I'm thinking of the Canon A75.

But maybe I should go for the cheapest, simplest Kodak for my daughter and stick to my film Nikon SLR when I want better quality.

We are Mac users.

thanks in advance.

D70FAN
07-30-2004, 01:13 PM
I want to buy a dc for my daughter's 13th birthday.

On one hand, I want something simple, perhaps a Kodak, so she understands the technology involved.

On the other hand, I'm an art director and enjoy film photography. I'm also new to digital. Poor quality images will drive me crazy.

Can I get the best of both worlds and pay under $300? I'm thinking of the Canon A75.

But maybe I should go for the cheapest, simplest Kodak for my daughter and stick to my film Nikon SLR when I want better quality.

We are Mac users.

thanks in advance.

The A75 is a good all around choice. It is low cost, has a usable movie mode, and has good image quality. Do not buy the simplest, cheapest, camera. I twill only frustrate everyone.

Let me warn you, though, about our addiction. It is serious. Digital photography will set you free, to the point where your freinds will start to question why you are taking pictures of every blade of grass in your yard (The answer is: because I can!) Pretty soon, no one, and nothing, is safe....

...and depending on which Nikon AF lenses you have for your N series (I am assuming here), you may be the owner of a D70 sooner than you think.

All kidding aside the A75 is a good introduction to digital photography, for you and your daughter.

Jake Conner
07-30-2004, 09:58 PM