PDA

View Full Version : rainbow halo around white in high contrast - why?

mopalia
06-19-2007, 10:34 AM
I'm taking a lot of photos on a salt flat marsh. When I take pictures of white birds, like egrets, I get a multi-colored halo around the bird. I know there's a word for this but can't remember it. What is it and how can I get rid of it?
Canon S2IS, no filters. Very high contrast situation, I think. I'm new at this kind of photography (CA light is not what Seattle light was!) and I'm figuring out this camera one feature at a time.

John_Reed
06-19-2007, 03:51 PM
I'm taking a lot of photos on a salt flat marsh. When I take pictures of white birds, like egrets, I get a multi-colored halo around the bird. I know there's a word for this but can't remember it. What is it and how can I get rid of it?
Canon S2IS, no filters. Very high contrast situation, I think. I'm new at this kind of photography (CA light is not what Seattle light was!) and I'm figuring out this camera one feature at a time.Some people call it "CA." On the other hand, I've shot a whole bunch of Egrets in your neighborhood, and I do know that they DEMAND underexposure. Their feathers reflect so much light, it can drive a camera's exposure system crazy if left un-checked. Here are 3 examples in 3 different lighting conditions, the first in overcast at: -1/3 EV:

http://john-reed.smugmug.com/photos/145273502-L.jpg

Second one a little brighter, backlit at -2/3 EV:

http://john-reed.smugmug.com/photos/145273348-L.jpg

Full sunlight at -1EV:

http://john-reed.smugmug.com/photos/143626362-L.jpg

In the last one, you can see that the wing leading edges are already verging on being "blown-out;" but if I'd made it any darker, the underbelly would lose details.

My shots were taken with an FZ30, but a friend of mine who shoots a DSLR says he has to be really careful with Egret exposures too; it's not unique to you.

mopalia
06-20-2007, 09:15 AM