PDA

View Full Version : RAW what is it, and what does it let you do

Old-Man
05-06-2007, 12:28 PM
I see a lot of you talk about RAW, what is it and what does it let you do? Sorry I'm sure this is a dumb question to some of you, but I'm just starting out with this camera stuff. :rolleyes:

AlexMonro
05-06-2007, 01:34 PM
Raw is the raw image data from the camera sensor, without (usually) any processing by the camera, or the compression that the JPEG format introduces. Sometimes known as a digital negative, it allows you more control at the post processing stage to allow you to optimise things like colour balance, sharpening and contrast.

JPEG was originally designed as a format to transmit photos on the internet, and a high priority was given to compression, in order to reduce file sizes and transmission times. Unfortunately, one effect of the form of compression used is that it partly works by throwing away some of the fine detail in the picture. Normally, the level of detail lost isn't very noticeable when viewing a picture onsceen, but if you need to manipulate the image, you can soon start seeing the compression artefacts. JPEG is also limited to 8-bit colour depth, allowing only 256 possible levels or red, green and blue for each pixel, whereas most mid to high end cameras actually record 10, 12 or 14 bit colour depth on the sensor, allwoing 16384 different levels of each primary colour, and all this data is included in the RAW file.