PDA

View Full Version : New Camera and looking for a memory card for it

Old-Man
05-06-2007, 09:51 AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the board and I'm new to SLR cameras so please be easy on the old guy. I just got the Canon Rebel XTI camera. My question is, I'm looking for a memory card for it. If I go with a new 8GB SanDisk Extreme III memory card, does the larger the card is slow down the camera at all?

Sorry if it's a stupid question, but I just have not learned enough about the cameras yet.

Old-Man

JC4
05-06-2007, 10:38 AM
I don't think the 8gig will slow down the camera, but... On my XTi, I get over 400 pictures on a 4 gig card, RAW. I don't think I'd want 800 shots on a single card, that has a risk of failing. So, I'd prefer two 4 gig cards to one 8 gig.

Old-Man
05-06-2007, 11:28 AM
JC4, thank for the info. I think I might do like you said. For one of my old digital camera I have a few smaller cards. I also have a 2gb card on a small Nikon digital camera, that lets me take 1800 pictures. 400 on a 4gb card should be enough to do everything I need in one sitting. Do you know if the more pictures you have on a card will slow the camera down? Am I always better off loading them on a disk when I'm done to keep the number of photes low on the card?

Thanks!

JC4
05-06-2007, 12:44 PM
I shot about 360 pictures the other day, on one card. Didn't seem to affect the camera speed at all. All shots were in just one folder too. I really don't think large file counts matter much there days.

But, when I plugged it into the PC.....:) Took a long time to download them into Lightroom, as you'd expect for a total of 3+ gig of data.

Old-Man
05-06-2007, 01:05 PM
Thanks, that just what I wanted to hear.

I see you also have the Canon XTI, how do you like it? I just got mine yesterday and I still need to get a card before I can use it. Do you know any little trick to using this camera? :)

JC4
05-06-2007, 02:24 PM
Do you know any little trick to using this camera? :)