PDA

View Full Version : Moonlight over lake

photodave
05-02-2007, 09:48 PM
Hi. This is my first post and I admit openly that I am a newbie.
I noticed that, at the time, it was a very gorgeous night. It was amazing. I tryed to capture it and I don't think it captured the beauty as I wanted.
I have a S2 IS. I set f2.7, 15", and 50 ISO.
I do have Jasc Paint Shop Pro 7. I do know how to use it a bit but not professionally.
If you have any advice on what I could have done different when shooting, or if I can salvage this picture, please share. I would appreciate it dearly.
Thanks in advance,
-Dave

AlexMonro
05-03-2007, 01:10 AM
It's a pretty nice shot - I'd give it space on my wall as a 10x8" print!:)

As to improvements - the composition might work a bit better if you pointed the camera slightly to the left, putting the moon about a third of the way in from the right. This would follow the rule of thirds, and crop out some of the black, featureless trees.

Lilchilichoco
05-05-2007, 03:12 AM
Dave......that's a dream!!!.......Beautiful shot!! I'm afraid I disagree with monro's advice. I think the tree and the shadows lend the mystery to the picture.........the contrast of the light with the dark IS the composition........:). The "featureless" trees create the environment and the mood of the photo. It's beautiful as it is.

There is a photo gallery in this forum where you can post your pictures for c&c. Welcome here and all the best!!

And by no means let rules limit you.:)

Best Regards

hokeyguy
05-05-2007, 08:31 AM
It's a pretty nice shot - I'd give it space on my wall as a 10x8" print!:)

As to improvements - the composition might work a bit better if you pointed the camera slightly to the left, putting the moon about a third of the way in from the right. This would follow the rule of thirds, and crop out some of the black, featureless trees.