PDA

View Full Version : How to straighten askew horizon..

Lilchilichoco
04-21-2007, 01:15 AM
Could someone please tell me how to straighten an askew horizon,I'm quite good at those....so most of my photos are tilting towards one side. I'm not good at photoshop though,so would really appreciate a take-by-hand approach. If this is the wrong place for this question please tell me the right one.

Thanks and Best Regards

D Thompson
04-21-2007, 04:42 AM
It's fairly easy if you're using PS. First, of course, is always work on a duplicate layer {ctrl+j}. Shortcuts are for pc, you can adjust for a mac.

Select all by either {ctrl+a} or select/all.
Then {ctrl+t} or edit/free transform.
Move the arrow to outside the box at a corner and you will see it change to a arc type shape. Move it and you should see the selection rotating. Just rotate it until you get the horizon straight.
Next, go to one of the corners and directly over the little square box until it changes to a diagonal arrow. Hold the shift key and drag until it fills the background and then go to the opposite diagonal corner and do the same thing. Press enter and it should be straight.

Hope this helps.

toriaj
04-21-2007, 11:17 AM
Are you using Photoshop Elements, Photoshop CS2, or another? Often there is a "straighten" tool right on the toolbar.

JLV
04-21-2007, 11:34 AM
In PhotoShop try this:

Rotate Canvas
Arbitrary
then enter anagle and select either CW or CCW

Experiment until it is level.

D Thompson
04-21-2007, 07:10 PM
In PhotoShop try this:

Rotate Canvas
Arbitrary
then enter anagle and select either CW or CCW

Experiment until it is level.

If you use the free transform method, you don't have to guess, undo, and guess again for the results. But in PS, to each his own.

zmikers
04-21-2007, 07:19 PM