PDA

View Full Version : Virtual Upsize from 10 MP to 30MP



benjikan
04-17-2007, 02:43 PM
Upsizing you 10 megapixels to 30 mp sort of...
Pro Applications..Making 10.2 megapixels in to 30.6 mega pixels, sort of...
There are ways to improve the rendition of the K10D that will give it similar resolution to a Pro Back of 31.6 megpaixels. I will be shortly doing an Ad Campaign with the K10D where I could have opted for a Digital Back. I will shoot in RAW and introduce three layers with a microscopic shift on each of the layers. After doing so I will sharpen the layers at between 0.3 and 0.5 pixels at 240 to 300 percent. I "Free Transform" the two duplicate layers by "1" Pixel each and I do not "Flatten" the image. It works quite well. What I do is use two colour layers and one B&W layer. I still use the "Soft Light" setting. I am effectively getting the impression of a 30.6 megapixel image. The pixels are all slightly offset. It really does work quite well.

One more pointer.

You take the original for example, I don't know let's say 2400 x 3600 as the original layer. The first duplicate I would make 2399 x 3599 and the second 2401x3601 and when applying Unsharp Mask I would sharpen at 0.3 to 0.5 pixels at 240 to 300 percent to compensate for the offset. Do not Flatten the layers as that would negate the size of the file.

Thought I would share that with you. Theoretically it is not 31.6 mega pixels, but it sure looks like it.

Here is a sample using "Free Transform" to offset the image "1" pixel per layer. What you are seeing is a crop of about 66 percent from the original that can be viewed on one of my sites under the series name "Divine Inspiration".

Ben
http://anashcreation.com/thenashgallery/BenjaminKanarek/chr_tiencloseup?full=1

fractalgfx
04-17-2007, 05:38 PM
I'm always skeptical of claims of like this, but this is a pretty brilliant approach. From a technical perspective, this technique seems to work by hiding the re sampling artifacts with noise.

Is this a technique you found somewhere, or is it something you created? I think I might try and write a computer program that can do this automatically.

benjikan
04-24-2007, 07:31 AM
I'm always skeptical of claims of like this, but this is a pretty brilliant approach. From a technical perspective, this technique seems to work by hiding the re sampling artifacts with noise.

Is this a technique you found somewhere, or is it something you created? I think I might try and write a computer program that can do this automatically.

Something I discovered just playing around and thinking about what a layer represents metaphorically.

Ben

Bob_Benner
04-24-2007, 11:27 AM
Hi Ben. Do you have the exact instructions on how to do this? I would like to try it and see the result on a couple pictures of my son. Thanks

iamaelephant
04-24-2007, 04:08 PM
I don't understand - you still end up with a 2400 * 3600 picture. How is this "like" 30mp?