PDA

View Full Version : E-410/e-510

IMSassafras
04-16-2007, 11:53 AM
I have been researching the D-SLR market for about two years and have been paying very close attention the the Olympus E-series. I've been dragging my feet all this time and didn't really know why until I opened up a Photography magazine and found the new offering from Olympus - the E-410 and E-510. The feature that made me smile was "Live View".

The confusing part....
What makes these cameras different? They seem like twins with a $100 price difference. Is this a marketing ploy or are there really some clear, unmistakable upgrades in the E-510?

Warmly,

Sassafras

Riley
04-16-2007, 12:30 PM
well i cant give you any sort of detailed list but from what i know this far

the 510 has IS, in body stabilisation, while the 410 has an auto iso boost
the 510 has a larger grip, is there more battery power ? *shrug

no doubt there is more, but it wont be all that significant i think
personally, for an additional $100 i think IS is hard to pass up

IMSassafras
04-16-2007, 01:03 PM
Thanks for the quick response.

The magazine I read said that both cameras have the same Stabilization - MIS. But I read the review at this site on the 410 and it says that it has DIS and the 510 has OIS. So,... who's right?

Sass

DonSchap
04-16-2007, 01:09 PM
... no doubt there is more, but it wont be all that significant i think personally, for an additional $100 i think IS is hard to pass up

I tend to agree ... why they even intro'd the Oly E-410 leaves one to wonder what their motivation could have been.

As Long John Silver once silver, during a image shoot:
"Arrr, Young Jim ... Image Stability ... she be the only way!" ;)

Riley
04-16-2007, 01:18 PM
Thanks for the quick response.

The magazine I read said that both cameras have the same Stabilization - MIS. But I read the review at this site on the 410 and it says that it has DIS and the 510 has OIS. So,... who's right?

Sass