PDA

View Full Version : Shutter Speed Question

bTaryag
04-01-2007, 08:58 PM
Hello all.

I was asked by a neighbor to shoot a picture of all her grandkinds posing together. (Don't ask how many, it's in the twenties). She knows that I am not a pro, which is why she asked me - she doesn't want to pay for a pro!

The pictures will be taken indoors, but in an area with good/decent indoor lighting. Here is my dilemma: I plan on using my Canon A630, and would like to use the smallest aperture available (f8) to get all the kids in focus, which in turn will require a slower shutter speed. Flash will not be of much use as I will have to be far back to get everyone in the picture. I can raise the ISO, but that will cause the picture to be noisy.

My question is as follows. I will be using a tripod, so a slower shutter speed won't cause problems on my end. However, there may be problems on the other end, if a kid moves while I take the picture.

What is the slowest shutter speed I can use without this being a problem. The kids will be posing for the pictures, not running around, so I guess I can go low. The question is, how low can I go?

SpecialK
04-01-2007, 09:24 PM
On a tripod, 1/30 or 1/60th would be a reasonable shutter speed. You may not need to be at the smallest aperture, anyway, because you can be back, say, 12 or more feet which will help your focus issue.

Chrisku13
04-02-2007, 12:22 AM