PDA

View Full Version : Evolt E-500 Problems

cbear
03-16-2007, 06:05 PM
Hello everyone,

I am new to the DSLR and was hoping someone could answer a few questions for me before I give up completely. Until this camera, I have always used Olympus, but P&S.

Now I am by no means a professional photographer, just a guy who enjoys to take pictures and play in photoshop for fun. So be kind if these are real basic things everyone should know :-)

I purchased the Evolt in December and I have had an ongoing issue since day one. When shooting pictures (indoor / outdoor all different light situations) the flash will flicker 3, 4 and sometimes even 5 times before the shot is taken. Is this normal or is there a setting somewhere? I have the flash set to Auto. I keep missing shots as well as driving the people around me nuts!!

As well, when I press the shutter release halfway to lock the focus the flash flickers everytime. Again, maybe this is normal but I find it to be very annoying, not to mention hard on the eyes ;-)

Any advice on how to fix this problem would be wonderful as I am beginning to think I have a defective camera (or I am a defective photographer - LOL)

Please keep in mind that no settings have been changed - all factory default.

Thanks.

Chris.

Norm in Fujino
03-16-2007, 08:25 PM
The E-500 uses the flash to provide extra illumination to assist the focus mechanism when shooting in dim or back-lit lighting. Unfortunately, it is obnoxious to a lot of people. Possible solutions are:

1. Learn to use your camera in a non-AUTO mode. Turn off the auto flash popup (see page 126 in the manual), and also try turning off the AF ILLUMINATOR function (p. 75); set the camera to P or another mode.