PDA

View Full Version : Simple Photoshop Borders



PHeller
02-08-2007, 09:40 PM
I'm interested in how to make simple photoshop borders such as this. Someone did this for me, but didn't accurately tell me how to do it, was hoping someone would be better at explaining it to me.

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f252/PHeller/87.jpg

danidabi
02-08-2007, 10:27 PM
All I can tell you is how to make a single border, not a layered one. Using PS CS under Image, then canvas size. Change the size accordingly to desired width.

AllanC
02-09-2007, 05:50 AM
do a google search, i'm sure there are plenty of tutorials out there for this.

did a quick search and found this one, didn't look through it as yet though.

http://graphicssoft.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?zi=1/XJ/Ya&sdn=graphicssoft&cdn=compute&tm=18&gps=62_398_1012_611&f=00&tt=14&bt=0&bts=0&zu=http%3A//www.myjanee.com/tuts/frame/frame.htm

mattdm
02-09-2007, 06:38 AM
All I can tell you is how to make a single border, not a layered one. Using PS CS under Image, then canvas size. Change the size accordingly to desired width.

Same thing, but do it twice. :)

zmikers
02-09-2007, 07:24 AM
Same thing, but do it twice. :)

Exactly. I find it works best if you click on Canvas Size, then click the "relative" box. Make a white border about .15 inch then repeat the process but making the second border black. You can also add some text but to do this I suggest making your second black border about 1 inch. Seems to work well for me, like this image. Hope this helps!

JLV
02-09-2007, 10:13 AM
All I can tell you is how to make a single border, not a layered one. Using PS CS under Image, then canvas size. Change the size accordingly to desired width.

Here is how I put a mat and frame on the attached photo:

Open the photo
Choose Image > Canvas Size
Select Relative
Under New size I entered 2 inches for both the width and the height.
I selected White as the color
Clicked OK

I repeated the above using 0.75 for both width and height
I selected Black for the color
Clicked OK


There is probably a way to save this as an action. I have to study that part again.

I hope it helps

Pave
02-09-2007, 10:30 AM
It is exactly like JLV sais....you can also use the key shortcut (is this correct word?) ALT+CTRL+C :)

danidabi
02-10-2007, 12:04 PM
Yeah I learned something new today

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/166/385780873_aefbcb85cc.jpg