PDA

View Full Version : XTi/400D Metering

AdamW
02-05-2007, 03:07 PM
Hey--

I was reading about using spot metering, which the XTi/400D doesn't have. Which is most like spot metering: partial metering or center-weighted average metering?

Thanks

forno
02-05-2007, 03:20 PM
The one with the empty rectangle icon

AdamW
02-05-2007, 03:30 PM
The one with the empty rectangle icon

Thanks Forno--that would be center-weighted average. But from the manual's illustration on page 73, it appears that partial metering is more like spot. My confusion stems from the fact that the text accompanying the illustrations isn't clear at all.

Rontech1
02-05-2007, 03:56 PM
Thanks Forno--that would be center-weighted average. But from the manual's illustration on page 73, it appears that partial metering is more like spot. My confusion stems from the fact that the text accompanying the illustrations isn't clear at all.

AdamW,
First, I am no expert. But I have found on my XTi I get the best results (closest to spot?) from partial.
I have tried it repeatedly in all 3 modes using the exact same subject: ie: towards the sky, shooting a bird on a limb.
The best results I have seen comes from partial metering. The subject is most naturally lighted and the bg is not as bright. And I using ONLY the center AF point.
Don't know if this helps any because I have never used a spot metering camera yet.
Give it a try and see what you think.
Oh, and you are very correct in that the manual is really vague in a description of the different modes. However, it did make me want to experiment.
Hope this helps,
Ron

AdamW
02-05-2007, 06:23 PM
Thanks, Ron. It's reassuring to hear that you think the text is vague--it makes me feel slightly less dense.;) I think you're right, and I will experiment. And I already use only the center AF point. I like to focus and recompose beacuse I hate it when the camera decides for me what should be in focus.

michaelb
02-05-2007, 06:40 PM