PDA

View Full Version : What is a good slave flash for the Canon S3?



kilasting
12-28-2006, 07:20 AM
Can someone please recommend a good priced Slave Flash for the Canon S3?

Has anyone heard of the one made by phoenix?

http://cgi.ebay.com/SLAVE-FLASH-FOR-CANON-G7-S1-IS-S2-IS-S3-IS-S80-S500-G6_W0QQitemZ130063190431QQihZ003QQcategoryZ48515QQ ssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item13006 3190431

Please help me out thanks a lot!

KSM
12-28-2006, 09:02 AM
This one is a little stonger than the Canon and about 1/3 the price.
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=9136&A=details&Q=&sku=317047&is=REG&addedTroughType=categoryNavigation

kilasting
12-28-2006, 09:13 AM
thanks ksm.. do you have this one? and if so.. is it pretty good?

KSM
12-28-2006, 09:35 AM
thanks ksm.. do you have this one? and if so.. is it pretty good?
I don't have it but I have heard from several people that do and they all like it. Right now I have a little $20 Quantaray MS-1 from Ritz. It works but you have to make a lot of adjustments in the camera. I am going to get the Vivatar 120 in the next couple of months.

FLiPMaRC
12-28-2006, 10:01 AM
Hmm ... I have that Vivatar slave flash. I bought it for my old Olympus Stylus 300. I haven't used it in over a year. Maybe I should start using it for my S3 :p :D I think I bought it off eBay for less than $20 IIRC.

GaryS
12-28-2006, 02:12 PM
I got a Phoenix D91 for Christmas.... Its similar to the one you linked, but it has 4 different power settings.

It works very well for what I wanted it to. Great for bouncing off the ceiling to light a room full of kids without shadows everywhere.

Its very big though. Almost bigger than the camera!

BowerR64
12-28-2006, 08:45 PM
What about this one, its not bad.

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y191/BowerR64/Camera/edit/paparazzirig.jpg

The flash trigger is right infront of the stock flash so you can set it really low and only the slave shows on the shot.

kilasting
12-28-2006, 09:37 PM
Thanks Bower64... couple questions for you...

Who makes it?
Is this good for when there is more then one camera in the room and multiple flashes are going off at the same time? So yours will be firing at the right time?
Also does it swivel or tilt for bounce flash?

Is it expensive?

Thanks!

Wesan
12-28-2006, 10:35 PM
I'm using a Soligor DG-340 AZ as a slave flash with my S3. I bought it from a Swedish website (since I'm from Sweden) and paid 795 SEK for it. That's about 115 USD.

It can be tilted up to 90 degrees in steps (30, 45, 60 and 90 degrees). It also has manual zoom (you pull the flash head by hand) in steps of 28, 35, 50 and 85 mm.

It also has a few other settings too, for instance you can adjust it to the aperture you are using on the camera and you can set the slave flash to fire according to when your camera's built-in flash fires (like after 2 pre-flashes or 50 ms after the built-in flash, for example). And it has a connection for a sync cable as well.

I'm pretty happy with it. It is a "regular" flash, that can also be used as a slave flash.

http://hem.bredband.net/wesake/Pics/slave_flash.jpg

Grimlock
12-30-2006, 12:23 PM
I have that Phoenix flash-I got it off Amazon for about $50 shipped a few months back. It is much stronger than the built-in one. Actually a bit too strong, so I diffused it with a bit of tissue paper taped over the head. I found the bracket it came with to be awkward to use, as the assembly becomes too bulky for a one-handed grip, but I didn't want to try holding that flash without getting fingerprints on it. I use a bracket similar to the one Bower has, but without the trigger (found it for like $8 at Microcenter, but Wolf carries them too), so I have a solid 2-handed grip, and the flash is raised higher over the lens, so less red-eye.

KSM
12-30-2006, 01:05 PM
If you already have a flash with a hot shoe, here is a bracket that will make it a slave for you.
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=11871&A=details&Q=&sku=396592&is=REG&addedTroughType=categoryNavigation

kilasting
12-31-2006, 11:00 AM
What about this one, its not bad.

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y191/BowerR64/Camera/edit/paparazzirig.jpg

The flash trigger is right infront of the stock flash so you can set it really low and only the slave shows on the shot.


Bower64 can you please help me?
Thanks Bower64... couple questions for you...

Who makes it?
Is this good for when there is more then one camera in the room and multiple flashes are going off at the same time? So yours will be firing at the right time?
Also does it swivel or tilt for bounce flash?

Is it expensive?

Thanks!

GaryS
12-31-2006, 04:27 PM
Since I got a slave for Christmas, and this question comes up fairly regular, here are 3 sample shots to see why I think a slave flash is very useful.

I tried to give the fairest comparison I could, so each pic is photoshopped to look as good as possible. All three were taken in our family room at night, with all the lights on. It is a bit dark in there at the best of times.

1 - Available light. On a tripod, ISO200, but the shutter is still a bit slow and there is some motion blur. PS used to lighten overall, then lighten the face shadows further.
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/144/340188404_34508e94bb.jpg

2 - Built-In flash. PS used to lighten overall. Much sharper but the background is dark.
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/79/340188470_2ca440d7d0.jpg

3 - Built-In plus Slave flash. Slave flash is aimed at the ceiling for bounce effect. Very little PS, just resize and slight sharpen.
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/143/340188524_149a912a81.jpg

Overall, the slave flash makes it much easier to get nice pics in low lighting.... If only the S2 had a flash mount!

I hope these help someone....

BowerR64
12-31-2006, 04:56 PM
Flash is great when you figure it out. I love using it and its so portable and so effective.

NatalieT
11-27-2007, 11:22 PM
[QUOTE=Wesan;185636]I'm using a Soligor DG-340 AZ as a slave flash with my S3. I bought it from a Swedish website (since I'm from Sweden) and paid 795 SEK for it. That's about 115 USD.



Hi Wesan,
thanks for the sample pictures, they were really helpful. I too have an S3 Is and am looking for a slave flash, i need it for wedding photography in harsh sunlight, do you think this would be the one to get? I live in New Zealand and can't find it for sale anywhere, what is the website that you used please?

Is the flash easy to use? Sounds complicated to me.... all the syncro etc blah blah...
Natalie

kennysarmy
11-28-2007, 03:40 AM
What about this one, its not bad.

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y191/BowerR64/Camera/edit/paparazzirig.jpg

The flash trigger is right infront of the stock flash so you can set it really low and only the slave shows on the shot.

Hey BoweR64 - have you got anymore details on your setup?
I'm in the UK and keen to see if your flash/rig is available here...

THanks.

Wesan
12-04-2007, 12:32 AM
[quote=Wesan;185636]I'm using a Soligor DG-340 AZ as a slave flash with my S3. I bought it from a Swedish website (since I'm from Sweden) and paid 795 SEK for it. That's about 115 USD.



Hi Wesan,
thanks for the sample pictures, they were really helpful. I too have an S3 Is and am looking for a slave flash, i need it for wedding photography in harsh sunlight, do you think this would be the one to get? I live in New Zealand and can't find it for sale anywhere, what is the website that you used please?

Is the flash easy to use? Sounds complicated to me.... all the syncro etc blah blah...
Natalie

Hello, Natalie!

Sorry it took me so long to answer your question. I've been a bit busy lately. I bought my slave flash from www.cyberphoto.se (http://www.cyberphoto.se) , but I think they ship only within Sweden and maybe one or two other Nordic countries. I think you should be able to find a similar slave flash (maybe even the same) in New Zealand, however. Ask in camera stores or search for other online stores available in New Zealand.

Some of my experiences with the slave flash so far:
I found it necessary to get a separate slave flash trigger for the slave flash, to be sure that the slave flash always was triggered. The built-in trigger of the slave flash does not always "notice" the camera's flash. A separate slave flash trigger has a larger sensor, so it is more sensitive to the camera's flash. If you also use a sync cable connected between the slave flash and the slave flash trigger, you can also mount the slave flash backwards on the trigger, in case you'd like to bounce the flash off the wall or ceiling behind you (or hold it in your hand and point it in any direction). Here is a picture of my slave flash trigger (brand name is Hama, bought in a Swedish retail store):
http://www.wesans.nu/data/foton/IMG_8071_rotate_crop_resize_ring.jpg

The slave flash trigger has a hot shoe on top, in which you mount the slave flash.

In some situations, I have found it difficult to get the exposure correct with the slave flash. Not that the pictures get overexposed - rather the opposite! The pictures sometimes get underexposed, when I use the slave flash. I'm not sure why, I'm probably doing something wrong myself. I think it usually happens, when I try to bounce the flash off a wall or the ceiling.

Another accessory I have bought for my slave flash, is a so called omnibounce. It's like a white "cap" you put in front of the flash. It makes the light softer and spreads it in a wider angle. When shooting people or portraits, it makes the picutres look much better.

One problem I have noticed when using a slave flash in harsh sunlight (which you mentioned you'll need it for), is that the bright sunligt can "disturb" the sensor of the slave flash (or slave flash trigger) - either the sensor doesn't "notice" the camera's flash due to the strong sunligt, or the slave flash trigger reacts to the sunlight and fires the slave flash even when you haven't fired the camera's built-in flash. So using a slave flash in harsh sunligt could be difficult and tricky.

Also, flashes from other cameras around you, can also trigger your slave flash.

Well...these are some of my experiences with my slave flash and the Canon Powershot S3IS. It can be tricky sometimes to "get it right", but when you do, the pictures usually get better than using the camera's built-in flash only.

If you are going to shoot a wedding using an S3 with a slave flash, you will probably need to practise and experiment quite a bit first. And getting an omnibounce is also a good idea. With an omnibounce, you can point the slave flash straight onto the subject and get a much nicer flash light, than when without an omnibounce. But the omnibounce reduces the light from the flash, so you may need to be a bit closer to your subject instead.

Hope this helps and that it didn't make you too much more confused... :D

Good luck! :)

JTL
12-04-2007, 04:27 AM
Hi Wesan,
thanks for the sample pictures, they were really helpful. I too have an S3 Is and am looking for a slave flash, i need it for wedding photography in harsh sunlight, do you think this would be the one to get? I live in New Zealand and can't find it for sale anywhere, what is the website that you used please?

Is the flash easy to use? Sounds complicated to me.... all the syncro etc blah blah...
Natalie

I use this flash with my S3. It works great...

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/311150-REG/Phoenix_04219_D92_BZS_Digital_Slave_Flash.html

For a few dollars more, this slave flash offers more control...

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/311151-REG/Phoenix_04223_D91_BZS_4_Stop_Digital_Slave.html

And, for a lot more money, you can buy the best slave flash on the market...

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/240849-REG/Digi_slave_1600_Deluxe_3000_Slave_Flash.html

Both the Phoenix flashes come with a bracket. I tested all three and wound up buying the cheapest one. But, if you plan to use it for serious photography (which would beg the question...why aren't you using a dslr?), I would go with the D91 BZS because of the greater output control.

Flash photography IS complicated, takes practice and you need to learn about it to get any kind of quality result. There's no getting around that.