PDA

View Full Version : Manual, Av or Tv mode

TassieD
12-17-2006, 07:56 PM
Just a quick question to see what peoples opinions are.

For sports photography would it be best to use Manual mode or one of the creative modes i.e. Av or Tv?

I got to thinking this after my cricket shots yesterday and now think there has to be a better way.

Apologies for the basicness of the question but I have been second guessing myself all day and am now totally confused....lol

zmikers
12-17-2006, 08:04 PM
If it were me, I'd use Tv mode as you will need to make sure your SS is quick enough to stop the action. Set it to the desired SS and go from there. That's my opinion but I'm not a pro or anything.;) :D

pagnamenta
12-17-2006, 08:30 PM
Your shots are great, so whatever settings you are using are obviously working. I shoot a lot of sports, soccer, basketball, football, just a few. I always use M mode because it gives me control over nearly everything. I always have to shoot wide open at f2.8 so M really helps.

The think I don't like about Av is that if I set a low f stop, say 2.8, the shutter speed is always too fast. If I use Tv mode, and set the shutter speed at what I need to freeze the frame, the aperature never opens up enough, so my shots are again too dark.

Nickcanada
12-17-2006, 08:40 PM
I shoot Av and adjust the exp compensation if need be. I find it too much to think about in M. If the sun moves and I'm not paying attention or if I move or the action moves to the shade, it would be very easy to underexpose.

I've been checking my histogram and highlight warning alot lately, it's made a huge difference for me. I've been reading about exposing to the right too, very intresting stuff.

TassieD
12-18-2006, 12:59 AM
Thanks for the input guys, I will be back at the ground on Thursday and Friday. This time no coloured pajamas and white ball, they will be in whites and using a red ball.

cwphoto
12-18-2006, 04:45 AM