PDA

View Full Version : FZ20 Flash

Dave601
11-28-2004, 06:05 PM
Alright so I have a Panasonic FZ20. I am thinking I need to buy a flash for it. I am using it to take pictures in a gym (basketball and volleyball games). With the flash that is built in to the camera the pictures are very dark. I can slow down the shutter speed but this makes the pictures very blurry. I can also touch the pictures up with photoshop but they are just barely usable for me.

First, will a flash even help me in this situation.

Second, what type of flash will I need (recommendations please).

And third, is using a seperate flash pretty easy. Pretty much you just put it on the camera and take pictures, right. And please try to put this in fairly basic terms because for the most part I am new to this. :)

Oh yeah...try to keep the prices under $200. Thanks.

freshlightphotographer
11-28-2004, 06:15 PM
Dave,

I just asked a similar question in a different thread ('Want to buy Panasonic FZ15/20 but....') in the 'Which Camera Should I Buy?' Topic.

All I can tell you is that the FZ20 does not support TTL (through-the-lens) flash systems. This means that you may have to make some manual adjustments to your flash settings when using an external flash. I have always found this to be difficult and don't fully understand it. I currently use a TTL flash on a Nikon film SLR with perfect results every time.

This is actually the one thing that is holding me back from going digital. I can't afford a digital SLR, so a 'prosumer' model like the FZ20 is my best bet. But I am nervous about this flash situation.

Are there any flash experts out there who can help?

Pete

leadeater
11-28-2004, 08:41 PM