PDA

View Full Version : Pentax k100d Lense question

superbass
11-24-2006, 08:07 PM
I am about to buy a Pentax K100D, and I wanted to purchase a zoom lense with it, so I was considering purchasing a Pentax 80-200 mm f/4.7-5.6 lense. Is this going to be a good lense for the camera?

I'm a newbie and this will be my first DSLR, so any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

Colin T
11-25-2006, 01:14 PM
Hi superbass

it depends on what you want to photograph. An 80-200mm digital zoom lens is about equal to 100-300mm zoom lens from a film camera. I use thise sort of lens for photographing birds in an aviary or dogs on a park. If you want to take pics of people it won't be very good if you are close to them. It will be fine if you are taking pics of people from over the road or up the street. And it won't be any good for landscape shots either. For those types of pics you are better off with an 18-50mm zoom or something around that number.

Go to your local camera store and have them fit the lens to a demo camera. Then move around the room and try to zoom in and out and see what you can get to fit in the frame. You should be able to get half a human in but not the whole body. Try it out and see what you think.

Reps
11-25-2006, 01:27 PM
I would encourage You to choose DA 50-200 (4-5.6)- best bang of the buck, believe it or not...

Best and happy shooting, JR

superbass
11-25-2006, 05:19 PM
Gah! See this is where buying stuff online begins to suck ...

I read a bunch of reviews for the Pentax k100d and finally decided on that, but my decision now is whether to get the body only and buy the 80-200 mm lense or buy the one that comes with the 18-55 mm lense.

Oh and the only reason I'm considering buying the other lense is because it's on clearance for about 80 bucks :D

Thanks for the help guys, I guess I'll do some thinking and decide soon.

pas49ras
11-26-2006, 04:17 AM