PDA

View Full Version : Printed pic issue

sully
11-24-2006, 05:48 PM
I printed some of my first pictures from my new D50 and some of them that looked great on my monitor turned out terrible on print end (those affected were indoor shots). I have my monitor and PSE 5.0 use sRGB color space and my brightness and contrast levels on the monitor are fairly low.

The print place uses Kodak technology. Could this be the difference - I don't have their printer profile? if so, any tips on what you all do?

Or maybe I'm just a rookie still:eek:

toriaj
11-25-2006, 06:22 PM
I'm a rookie too, but I've had the same problems. Some printers' images looked fine, others were way off. Monitor calibration systems come highly recommended. Pantone Huey is one I have heard a lot about.

I wanted to save $$$, so I got the ICC profile from Mpix.com, the printer service I had trouble with. I also discovered the Color Management and Monitor Calibration features of my post processing program (Paint Shop Pro.) I haven't printed any more pictures yet, but I think this will help. You may be able to do something similar. Let me know what works!

sully
11-25-2006, 07:06 PM
I contacted Kodak by email asking them about this and the only advice they gave was to adjust my monitor (brightness/contrast) so the printed pic looked like the onscreen pic...

I guess this makes sense...sort of.

I've been printing at nearby kiosks in stores. Not high tech but the product has been pretty good with my small Canon P&S. Perhaps I'll look into Mpix.

Thanks!

toriaj
11-25-2006, 07:38 PM
Do you use a post-processing program, such as Photoshop? I think most programs have a Monitor Calibration or Color Management feature. That might help. I was surprised at how in-depth the calibration was, and how different the file looked afterwards.

JLV
11-26-2006, 11:51 AM
A test sheet can be down loaded from www.digitaldog.net. Click on TIPS (right side of page). The on Priner test File.

toriaj
11-26-2006, 01:55 PM