PDA

View Full Version : tips for taking slides of paintings?

PKG215
11-03-2006, 10:09 AM
First, off, I'm an absolute newbie with digital photography. Until now I've used a Pentax MX, fully manual film SLR.

That being said, I just got a Fuji s6000. I want to take digital images of my paintings, to make both into slides and for the web. So far, though, my pictures have looked very un-sharp when I've viewed them at 100% in Photoshop. They're taken at the higest quality settings, both in auto and manual focus. But the brushstrokes look mushy, and the colors look more patchy than my actual painting.

My question is: does anyone have tips about how to take good pics of paintings? Specifically, which settings to use to get best color, best definition.

Secondly, lighting conditions - I'm using natural light to avoid glare - (my paintings tend to have glossy surfaces). I've also used tungsten bulbs, but get hot spots and more glare. Can anyone suggest how best to set up the lighting.

Again, please forgive my inexperience here, and thanks.

(Oh, in answer to the question of 'why don't I just use my Pentax film camera': I would, but I want to be able to work with the images a bit in Photoshop, do the cropping there, so that I don't have to mess with all that silver tape for what will be a couple hundred slides.)

JLV
11-03-2006, 12:46 PM
A book you might find helpful is “The Quick & Easy Guide to Photographing your artwork” by Roger Saddington. It is published by North Light Books.

I like to use sun light, but I still need to tweak them in Photo Shop. In the winter I use Halogen.

Have you found a way to make slides yourself, or do you send them out to be made?

I should point out that even though the book has a 2003 copywrite, its chapter of digital cameras is antiquated.

Clyde
11-04-2006, 12:25 PM