PDA

View Full Version : rules of thumb

mustang85
10-25-2006, 04:03 AM
Hi,

I'm new to the whole dSLR photography thing and was wondering if there are any general rules of thumb that apply to photograhy so i have somewhere to start and get an idea as to what settings to use (eg shutter speeds, f-stops ect.) The only one that I could find was to use the focal length of the lens to roughly determine the required shutterspeed, eg: a focal lenght of 300mm requires a shutter speed of 1/300. I dont know if this is correct or not but if you caould share you wisdom with me about similiar rules of thumb it would be very much appreciated!

Thanks in advance!!

D Thompson
10-25-2006, 05:40 AM
On a good sunny day you can shoot @ f16 and your shutter speed will be a reciprocal of your ISO. Let's say ISO=100 then shoot at 1/100 @ f16. You can adjust from that if you need to shoot at a specific aperture or shutter speed.

FLiPMaRC
10-26-2006, 12:25 PM
On a good sunny day you can shoot @ f16 and your shutter speed will be a reciprocal of your ISO. Let's say ISO=100 then shoot at 1/100 @ f16. You can adjust from that if you need to shoot at a specific aperture or shutter speed.
:cool: Sunny 16 Rule

The previous lens thread talking about lens speed and exposure and all that stuff made me think about posting a little something - the Sunny 16 rule.

If you want to understand exposure, you have to be aware of light levels. All those F stop and shutter speed numbers may not mean a damn thing to someone who doesn't realize how much light the scene they are shooting is offering. If you don't have a meter (like a lot of my cameras), its actually pretty simple to estimate exposure fairly accurately. It all starts with Sunny 16.

This rule says that in full sunlight, if you set your aperture value to f/16, your shutter speed will be the approximate reciprocal of your film speed (ISO). What??