View Full Version : Beware Of These Sites!!
GT350E
10-12-2006, 07:15 AM
From the Post: This one seems looks too good to be true.........
What do you think? Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera
[1101B001] $222.40
http://www.marwell-electronics.com//product_info.php?products_id=1039&language=en&cPath=28
Not much info. about condition etc., etc. Couldn't find them on any of the lists mentioned.
Thanks!
HEY, GUESS WHAT?? The Marwell-Electronics Website seems to be GONE!! :eek:
BUT, THIS ONE (with the SAME ITEM Number), has APPEARED!! http://www.best-special-offers.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=25_45&products_id=1206 :mad:
BE CAREFUL EVERYONE!!!
JMBZ71
10-12-2006, 04:55 PM
GT... I think you've stumbled on to some real "Vapor-sites". Hear today, gone tomorrow (with your money)...
JMBZ71 :)
WARNING!!!!
best-special-offers.com
contains a BBB logo but when I checked was NOT a registered BBB member as far as I could tell.
They had NO contact details whatsoever when I checked.
Their DNS lookup states:
Whois Record for Best-special-offers.com
Page Information
Record Type: Domain Name
Server Data
IP Address: 68.142.212.120 [Whois] [Ping] [DNS Lookup] [Traceroute]
IP Location: United States - California - Sunnyvale - Inktomi Corporation
Blacklist Status: Clear
SSL Cert: No valid SSL on this Host
Website Status: Active
Registry Data
ICANN Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE
Created: 2006-09-28
Expires: 2007-09-28
Registrar Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com
Name Server: YNS2.YAHOO.COM
DomainTools Exclusive
* Registrar History: 2 registrars.
* NS History: 10 changes. Using 6 unique name servers in 3 years.
* IP History: 6 changes. Using 4 unique IP addresses in 1 year.
Reverse IP: 3,648 other sites hosted on this server.
* = New Field (hyperlinked details coming in November)
Whois Record
Domain Name.......... best-special-offers.com
Creation Date........ 2006-09-29
Registration Date.... 2006-09-29
Expiry Date.......... 2007-09-29
Organisation Name.... daiva kennedy
Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. EmeryVille
Organisation Address. 94662
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US
Admin Name........... PrivateRegContact Admin
Admin Address........ P O Box 99800
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ EmeryVille
Admin Address........ 94662
Admin Address........ CA
Admin Address........ US
Admin Email.......... Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.5105952002
Admin Fax............
Tech Name............ PrivateRegContact TECH
Tech Address......... P O Box 99800
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... EmeryVille
Tech Address......... 94662
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... US
Tech Email........... Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com
Tech Phone........... +1.5105952002
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com
A google search on the phone number was most illuminating: http://www.google.com/search?q=1.5105952002&start=0&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official
I just checked. The last site is now dead. They truly are vapour sites that come for a day and vanish!
There are 2000 sites based on that server. I looked at a few and they all looked to be dodgy goods. I would paste the list here but I'd rather PM it if you really want a copy.
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.