View Full Version : Bluestripephoto ?
cjbohl
10-10-2006, 10:31 AM
Thinking about spending $2,000 BSP and yes I'm nervous about that. Any one deal with them before?
http://www.bluestripephoto.com/catalog/
According to resellerratings:
http://www.resellerratings.com/seller13436.html
they have a high positive feedback.
The BBB record states that the company is satisfactory
Original Business
Start Date:
2/14/2005
Type of Entity: corporation
Principal: Edward Evenhouse, Manager
Local Phone Number: (800) 849-1533
Fax Number: (732) 661-1094
Membership Status: This company is a member.
Date Joined BBB: 6/27/2006
TOB Classification: Electronic Equipment & Supplies-Dealers
Web Site URL(s): http://www.bluestripephoto.com
The SamSpade lookup just gave their domain registrant rather than the company address. I don't like it when this happens. I did a lookup with whois and got this
Whois Record for Bluestripephoto.com
Page Information
Website Title: BlueStripePhoto.com,
Record Type: Domain Name
Server Data
Server Type: Apache/1.3.37 (Unix) mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635.SR1.2 mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.7a
(Spry.com also uses Apache)
IP Address: 64.91.230.210 [Whois] [Ping] [DNS Lookup] [Traceroute]
IP Location: United States - Michigan - East Lansing - Liquid Web Inc
Response Code: 200
Blacklist Status: Clear
SSL Cert: www.bluestripephoto.com expires in 182 days
Website Status: Active
Registry Data
ICANN Registrar: NETWORK SOLUTIONS, LLC.
Created: 2006-01-31
Expires: 2009-01-31
Registrar Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Whois Server: whois.networksolutions.com
Name Server: NS2.MIWEBDNS3.COM
DomainTools Exclusive
* NS History: 2 changes. Using 2 unique name servers in 0 years.
* IP History: 2 changes. Using 2 unique IP addresses in 0 years.
Whois History: 9 records have been archived since 2006-03-29
* Dedicated Hosting: Bluestripephoto.com is hosted on dedicated server.
* = New Field (hyperlinked details coming in November)
Whois Record
Registrant:
Blue Stripe Photo
ATTN: BLUESTRIPEPHOTO.COM
c/o Network Solutions
P.O. Box 447
Herndon, VA. 20172-0447
Domain Name: BLUESTRIPEPHOTO.COM
Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Blue Stripe Photo Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com
ATTN: BLUESTRIPEPHOTO.COM
c/o Network Solutions
P.O. Box 447
Herndon, VA 20172-0447
570-708-8780
Record expires on 31-Jan-2009.
Record created on 31-Jan-2006.
Domain servers in listed order:
NS.MIWEBDNS3.COM 64.91.230.197
NS2.MIWEBDNS3.COM 64.91.230.198
They look to be OK but they don't seem to want to disclose their location on the whois records. This is pretty much against Nominet rules, I believe. I'd say they look OK but anything's possible.
cjbohl
10-10-2006, 03:52 PM
WOW........thanks for your time!
I just finishing reading Ktixx outstanding thread "Where/Where Not to Purchase Your Camera"
I believe I'll look at some of those companies that have a proven track record.......Spending that kind of money online scares me. Might even have to goto a brick and mortar. The savings was only little not great.
Thanks again.
WOW........thanks for your time!
I just finishing reading Ktixx outstanding thread "Where/Where Not to Purchase Your Camera"
I believe I'll look at some of those companies that have a proven track record.......Spending that kind of money online scares me. Might even have to goto a brick and mortar. The savings was only little not great.
Thanks again.
Good advice. I like to look online but for anything major I buy from a local shop whenever possible.
acepho99
11-02-2006, 10:41 AM
They are Express Cameras, and can be expected to share Express's general operating philosophy.
See: http://sheddingsomelight.com/buy-cameras/list/dealers-expressfam.html
RichNY
11-02-2006, 11:48 AM
Thinking about spending $2,000 BSP and yes I'm nervous about that. Any one deal with them before?
http://www.bluestripephoto.com/catalog/
Given B&H's excellent prices and service, why would you want to take a chance purchasing from this place? How much of a price difference is there between these two merchants that would make you risk the post sale customer service?
-BTW, B&H will match prices with legitimate dealers. They dropped their price $100 on a Canon 17-55IS lens to match Beach Photos price, so you can have the best of both worlds.
cjbohl
11-02-2006, 11:57 AM
Found a brick and mortar store close that does have the D80, less then $60 more then most on-line prices. I'll be going that way.
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.