PDA

View Full Version : Nikon 5700 double images

Snyderman
07-22-2004, 11:01 PM
I am having a wierd problem that maybe someone can help me with. I have a Nikon 5700 coolpix. There are shots that I would like to get in lower light without using the flash. As an amateur I started with raising the ISO manually. However, any setting I use above 100 I get a double image. What I mean is, for example, if I shot someone doing jumping jacks, I might get one image with the person with their hands in the air and one with their hands at their side in the same, single image with the same background. Not smudging as if it were someone moving with a slow shutter speed set, but two distinct, in focus, sharp images of the person with a single background...and the lighting looks good.

Are there any ideas out there? What is your technique for shooting in indoor lighting without using the flash and keeping some quicker shutter speed to avoig blurring? Thanks.

Snyderman

Jake Conner
07-23-2004, 10:29 AM
Are you by any chance shooting these under fluorescent lights? These can sometimes create a strobe effect, which could cause what you're seeing.

Jake

Snyderman
07-28-2004, 12:05 AM
Jake,

I appreciate your ideas. It's nice to have a senior member help me out. This happens inside and outside, mercury vapor or incandescent. This is just wierd.

Keith

Jake Conner
07-28-2004, 12:20 AM
Could you post some samples, along with descriptions of the conditions they were taken under?

Jake

Snyderman
08-15-2004, 05:50 PM
I posted them at this site.

http://www.loggersoccer.net/Doubles.htm

Let me know what you think...I am concerned that that camera may be at fault, but I hope it is just me.

These were shot using the fully automatic function, but I chose a 400 ISO as the only varialbe. It also takes a long time to get the shot. That is, once I press the shutter button, it may be several seconds blank before the next shot can be taken.

Keith

D70FAN
08-15-2004, 11:36 PM