PDA

View Full Version : This one looks too good to be true......



GT350E
10-09-2006, 01:49 PM
What do you think? Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera
[1101B001] $222.40

http://www.marwell-electronics.com//product_info.php?products_id=1039&language=en&cPath=28

Not much info. about condition etc., etc. Couldn't find them on any of the lists mentioned.

Thanks!

ktixx
10-09-2006, 03:36 PM
If it's too good to be true....it is too good to be true...
That price is $130 less then B&H (reputable) - I have no proof that they are scammers, but if you purchase from them I would put money on you not getting your product...
Ken

Paul79UF
10-09-2006, 10:14 PM
That sounds fishy.

I just got mine at BeachCamera.com for $333 and that was the lowest price on PriceGrabber.com. I ordered it early Wed. morning and it arrived Saturday afternoon. :)

Rhys
10-10-2006, 09:38 AM
I looked up their SamSpade entry and found this



http://www.marwell-electronics.com//about_us.php = [ 68.142.212.123 ]

Domain Name.......... marwell-electronics.com
Creation Date........ 2006-10-05
Registration Date.... 2006-10-05
Expiry Date.......... 2007-10-05
Organisation Name.... case martin
Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. EmeryVille
Organisation Address. 94662
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US
Admin Name........... PrivateRegContact Admin
Admin Address........ P O Box 99800
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ EmeryVille
Admin Address........ 94662
Admin Address........ CA
Admin Address........ US
Admin Email.......... contact@myprivateregistration.com

Admin Phone.......... 1.5105952002
Admin Fax............
Tech Name............ PrivateRegContact TECH
Tech Address......... P O Box 99800
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... EmeryVille
Tech Address......... 94662
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... US
Tech Email........... contact@myprivateregistration.com

Tech Phone........... 1.5105952002
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com


Then I failed to find their entry with the BBB so I ran the contact phone number and found:



Coyotego.com
P.O. Box 99800
Emeryville, CA 94662
dailypaidprofit.com
P.O. Box 99800
Emeryville, CA 94662


I ran these through BBB and found
http://www.goldengatebbb.org/commonreport.html?bid=77529
http://www.goldengatebbb.org/commonreport.html?bid=116542

Both reports stated the situation with the two companies as unsatisfactory.

Allowing for the fact that admin might be external (the zip codes are all different) I wouldn't put too much weight on the above two records - hence I have not pasted them. That was solely a phone number lookup so you can bet your boots that the phone number quoted in the records applies to all three organisations and two according to the BBB are dodgy.

Marwell is not listed on resellerratings. I note that it's a brand new site that started 5 days ago and which is registered for only 1 year. Given the situation regarding other entities I would assume there will be one of two scenarios:

1. It's a grab the money and run enterprise - hence the one year DNS registration. The guy knows he'll close the site within months.
2. Somebody is being cautious in their startup and doesn't want to blow too much money before he starts making some. Given the fact he's using the same admin phone number as two known dodgy companies it just could be an unfortunate coincidence.

The low prices could be introductory offers but on a site this new I think I'd wait a couple of months before ordering anything that costs more than $20 just to see how their ratings pan out.

GT350E
10-10-2006, 10:34 AM
WOW!! :eek:

Thanks a lot! I KNEW it sounded too good to be true! That gives me a lot of helpful information (and ways to analyze potential scammers)!

It will be interesting to see how this site (Marwell-Electronics) plays out!