PDA

View Full Version : do I really need all that megapixel for this?

DigiDunce
11-21-2004, 11:32 AM
Ok, I had one of the $1000 combo video camera/ digital still camera things. The dang thing gonna cost some bucks to fix. I need a way to take some pics and put on the web.

Will one of the $30-$50 cheapo's work ok for this.

I am done with spending the big bucks. The one mentioned above sat in a bag most of the time.

Found out after all these years(bout 5 years or so) after view what few videos and pics i took---that the dang thing was messed up from day one. Because i was a novice i never noticed.---LOL

Anyway---doesnt websites etc. only use so much pixels anyway? One of the 3-8 megapixels jobs would just be overkill for this application wouldn't it?

Thanks

11-21-2004, 12:49 PM
Well pixels is pretty much the size of an image... Usual websites use images up to 800x600, which is about 0.5 megapixels. I'm not sure what you are wanting... If its just to upload on a website or to print or anything...

One thing is sure, I doubt you need 8 megapixels, unless you want to enter in some ego contest. 2-3 megapixels will give you great quality 4x6 prints, 4 will give you great quality 8x10 prints... And of course with 2-3 you can print 8x10... The results will be good, but may vary depending on the kind of photo or your needs or how attentively you look at it.

For websites, well.. if you get a 2 megapixels camera, you should be fine... Having pictures 1200x1600 pixels should be plenty for your needs. With the ability to crop and all...

Find out what you need... ie. How many pixels, then how many manual controls you want... Perhaps, also how many pictures you will take in a year.