PDA

View Full Version : Auto Exposure Bracketing (aka digital blending)



FLiPMaRC
09-18-2006, 01:34 PM
Here are some tutorials that I got from a friend of mine:
http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/digital-blending.shtml
http://www.thelightsright.com/tutorials-video.htm

Instead of Photoshop, I used a software called Photomatix Pro (http://www.hdrsoft.com/)


Here's my first crack at AEB :D

Two pictures - standard exposure (0+) on the left; positive exposure (1+) on the right;
http://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079250/medium.jpghttp://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079249/medium.jpg

This is the digitally blended picture:
http://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67087724/large.jpg



Here are more test shots:
http://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079303/medium.jpghttp://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079357/medium.jpg
http://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079269/large.jpg

http://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079404/medium.jpghttp://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079419/medium.jpg
http://i.pbase.com/g3/58/693558/2/67079367.pyhTuXLv.jpg

FLiPMaRC
09-18-2006, 01:35 PM
more:
http://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079425/medium.jpghttp://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079428/medium.jpg
http://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079423/large.jpg

http://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079462/medium.jpghttp://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079488/medium.jpg
http://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079448/large.jpg

http://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079490/medium.jpghttp://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079491/medium.jpg
http://www.pbase.com/flipmarc/image/67079489/large.jpg

Honest Gaza
09-18-2006, 03:13 PM
Worthwhile results...something to keep in the back of my mind.

truflip
09-18-2006, 06:33 PM
awesome, that looks cool! bookmarked =)

Bill Markwick
09-19-2006, 12:08 PM
Really nice work, Flipmarc. And thanks for posting the URLs.

I like the side-by-side image scheme that you used. I'll have to see if I can do that with my photos stored at ImageShack.

Regards,
Bill

Riley
11-29-2006, 07:41 AM
how many stops between frames FlipMark ?

Riley

FLiPMaRC
11-29-2006, 09:08 AM
how many stops between frames FlipMark ?

Riley

Aperature is the same for each shot. I have to be in Av Priority mode in order to use the AEB function in my S3. Looking at the EXIF data, everything is the same except the Exposure Time. One example is the normal exposure shot is at 1/1600 and the positive exposure shot is at 1/800. Hope that helps.

Riley
11-29-2006, 12:32 PM
oh i see
thats a stop between FlipMark

Riley

Riley
11-29-2006, 12:55 PM
i use the same process when shooting a house upsun
in this way i get the shaddow detail of the house exposed and the 'bright' sky too
its a good workaround that helps me out from having to return to a shoot at a more favourable time. often i need rather more than a stop tho, and generally i will use 3 images, so thats about a four or five stop range

Riley

FLiPMaRC
11-29-2006, 01:38 PM
oh i see
thats a stop between FlipMark

Riley
When you say "stop", I automatically think Aperature. ;)

FLiPMaRC
11-29-2006, 01:40 PM
i use the same process when shooting a house upsun
in this way i get the shaddow detail of the house exposed and the 'bright' sky too
its a good workaround that helps me out from having to return to a shoot at a more favourable time. often i need rather more than a stop tho, and generally i will use 3 images, so thats about a four or five stop range

Riley
The AEB function does take 3 shots: negative exposure, standard, and positive. For digital blending, I only use the standard and positive exposures. If I want to generate an HDR image, I use all 3 shots.

Example of an HDR image using all three shots:
http://ct.pbase.com/g6/58/693558/2/70961988.MiqcamGJ.jpg

Riley
11-29-2006, 10:44 PM
yes i thought that by your language :)
so a stop is speed or aperture
whatever tho lol
the results are a higher tonal range
some people also try to emulate film results this way

Riley

FLiPMaRC
11-30-2006, 07:25 AM
:cool: Oh okay. I'm still a newbie. I didn't know a stop referred to both speed and aperature. Before my Canon S3, all I've had are P&S cameras :o I'm still learning.