PDA

View Full Version : Best travel tripod, using on sand ?

Tyson_AUS
09-05-2006, 09:44 PM
Hi guys,
I plan to be carry a tripod with me 24/7 for 3 weeks, through hot and tiring Egypt, your advice on which tripod is very important. I don't mind paying for a quality tripod.

Also, are there some tips on the legs for using a tripod on sand, I don't want to see my beautiful camera lying in the sand because of the wind :) lol

Would the easiest way to carry it be with a sling strap over my shoulder ?

kind regards,

Tyson.

toriaj
09-05-2006, 11:00 PM
I'm no expert, but I think a heavy tripod is better in the wind.

My tripod came in a bag with a shoulder strap. I wear it like this, with my camera bag over the other shoulder. I hike around like this. I would prefer a waist pack for the camera, maybe attaching the tripod to the bottom of the pack. Or, maybe putting everything in a backpack. But this is what I have for now. (You can see the tripod mount on the bottom of the camera. I keep it on there all the time.)

...pardon the dirty mirror ...

Tyson_AUS
09-05-2006, 11:49 PM
Thank you kindy for your good advice toriaj,

Unfortunately, the rules of the game with the travel guide mean I cannot take or backpack, daypack or waistpack :D lol

I can caribiner clip things to my belt, or sling straps over my shoulders but thats about it.. I might strap it in horizontal fashion to my belt, or wear it over the shoulder. Does anyone have any good advice for a tripod that is a good balance between quality and overall acceptable light weight, I still need a good tripod but for the trip it will not leave my body except when in use o_O

My camera is a Panasonic lumix FZ7.

Thanks guys

toriaj
09-06-2006, 03:48 PM