PDA

View Full Version : Does 50-500 mm lens mean it has 10X optical zoom?

nyoman
08-05-2006, 02:12 AM
I have seen or heard tele lens for digital SLR such as Sigma 50-500mm or Tamron 200-500 mm

I am completely new to this 'mm' measurement terms. I think that means the focal length right? (but you know I'm not a native english speaker and I don't quite understand it).

Does 50-500 mm lens mean that it will enlarge an object 10X optically ? because with my Panasonic DMC FZ7, the 36 mm - 432 mm lens mean that it has 12X optical zoom ability.

And, does 200-500 mm lens mean that it will enlarge an object 2.5 X ?

If I want to photograph birds that is very far, about 100 m far or so, what kind of tele lens that is good for that?

Thank you for your help.

coldrain
08-05-2006, 02:24 AM
The focal length is in mm's. The X x optical zoom is just confusing marketing speak with no real value or meaning about what the lens can do.
An 18-200mm lens would have a "11x optical zoom range", a 50-500mm a "10x", but both lenses have NOTHING in common.

To make things more confusing, it depends on the size of the sensors of a DSLR of how big it will get the subject on photo with a certain lens.
That is why as reference they take a 35mm film SLR, and with the crop factor of the sensor determine the field of view compared to the 35mm SLR.

So, a 50-500mm lens on a 1.5x crop factor camera like a Nikon D50 or Sony A100 gives the field of view of a 75-750mm lens.

That does give you some zoom power to catch birds with
To get an idea about what those mm's mean in terms on what you get on the photo, play around here:
www.tamroneurope.com/flc.htm

AlexMonro
08-05-2006, 06:27 AM