PDA

View Full Version : How do I take a photo like this?

bpeck
07-31-2006, 11:12 AM
Sorry for the crappy quality, but this is a two-page spread in a magazine that I took a photo of. No scanner means this is all I have to work with.

http://brian.cancerkills.net/fadell-slalom-photo.jpg

Slalom skateboarding is a fast sport, high paced and tough to photograph. This guy takes some of the best photo's I've seen, and I can't get mine to look like his. I love the motion effect, where the background is blurred but the rider is in perfect focus. To achieve that effect, you follow the rider with your camera using a somewhat slow shutter speed, correct? I'm almost positive this photographer uses a remote flash (I think that's what they're called), something I have no experience with. Are they expensive? Can I get this effect without one?

I sent an email to the photographer himself and I'll post his response if I get one. Any help from you guys is appreciated.

GaryS
07-31-2006, 11:51 AM
You are on the right track. Slower shutter speeds, and panning the rider as they go past will give you the motion effect. It takes practice... The good thing is: Skaters love getting their pictures taken, so they take run after run as you work on your technique.

On the flash... Your camera flash will do a reasonable job to start. Even on a bright day, the flash will help the rider pop-out from the background.

cdnphotographer
07-31-2006, 01:27 PM
you could always "stage" the photo.. using PS have him stand still and otion blue the background??

bpeck
07-31-2006, 05:06 PM
cdnphotographer - There's no way you'd be able to lean into a turn like that without moving ;) Boooo to staging photos. Capturing the moment is where it's at.

The good thing is: Skaters love getting their pictures taken, so they take run after run as you work on your technique.