PDA

View Full Version : Shutter speeds?

google
07-27-2006, 02:52 PM
Hi everyone, im new here and would like to know a few things! Here's my situation:

I have seen pictures that people have taken with long shutter speeds where light is used and is trailed along the picture e.g in this motorway picture http://www.alt.ac.uk/altc2005/motorway.JPG

I have an Olympus E-500 (It's Great) and I have tried increasing and decreasing shutter speeds but all I get are very dark or very bright pictures? It probably sounds really stupid but I dont know why it is doing that?!

Regards,
James.
(Image copyright University of Manchester)

zachwass2000
07-27-2006, 02:56 PM
James,
I am not very experienced in this, but from what I've read I have this to say:
Are you using full manual mode? It would be best to put the camera on Shutter Priority mode for shots like these. You can set the shutter to whatever speed you need and the camera will automatically adjust the aperture to compensate for the amount of extra light that will be coming in with the longer speed. If this doesn't help, I definitely don't know. I'm too much of an amateur to give any advice beyond this. Please report back and tell if it works though.
Zach

google
07-27-2006, 03:12 PM
Ok, thanks for the advice! I will practice with that info on with the moon tonight!

Regards,
James.

Warin
07-29-2006, 04:41 PM
Ok, thanks for the advice! I will practice with that info on with the moon tonight!

Regards,
James.

Shooting the moon actually requires fairly fast shutter speeds, since it is so damn bright. If you start using slower shutter speeds, you get a big white ball in the sky.

This (http://home.hiwaay.net/~krcool/Astro/moon/howtophoto/) is an excellent primer on Lunar photography.

Rick M
08-03-2006, 05:56 AM