View Full Version : What is "Gray Market"?
I've seen a new 5D online for as little at $1500. BHPhotoVideo is still $2800.
Here's (http://www.digitalliquidators.com/detail.asp?pid=cneos5d&l=DigitalSaver&ds_ref_key=DIJAGAEODOBJAFACF)one for $2400.
I called "CCI Camera City (http://www.ccicameracity.com/canon5d.html)" and got what I expected, 2 very rude people very pissed off that I would call, then further that I would ask a few questions "We're sales, you want it or not, stop wasting my time". closely following the answer to my question "Does it have a battery and charger?" "No it does not and yes Canon packs it that way" (BS of course, they sell spare batteries for $600, and what the heck is an "8 hour battery" on a digital camera anyway?).
Obviously, they must be getting some sort of returned (or stolen) merchandise.
So what's up. Anyone ever have a good experience wiith one of these "too good to be true" folks?
If I can get a 5D body only (even without a battery and charger) for $1550 + $99 shipping I'll take it, but these guys were obviously ill informed and liars. Are there "broken" merchandise out there for sale? I don't know how since Canon must buy it back to keep lemons off the market. I thought "Gray market" just ment "non-USA" and only a hassle if you want warranty service.
ReF's temporary account
07-26-2006, 05:07 AM
i also assume that gray market refers to products that are meant to be sold in other countries, such as those labeled "imports" by b&h. i could be wrong though - i never looked into it.
anyways, i'm pretty sure they won't even let you buy the camera without the battery or other stuff. from the stories i hear they'll probably charge you and never send it, send the wrong stuff, or tell you it's out of stock. the sh!tty attitude that these type of dealers and "salepeople" all seem to have tells me they're nothing but con-men, not even half decent people and definately not anyone formerly in sales. i wonder how many of these guys have criminal records :rolleyes:. i know i wouldn't want to give my credit card info and address to people like this
David Metsky
07-26-2006, 07:00 AM
So what's up. Anyone ever have a good experience wiith one of these "too good to be true" folks?
If you have to ask this question you already know your answer. Run away from merchants like this, they are nothing but bad news and you will have nothing but grief. But from someone you trust and you'll know what you're getting.
-dave-
HD650
08-10-2006, 03:21 PM
CCI is the same as www.royalcamera.com DO NOT BUY FROM THEM!!!! THEY HAVE SOME HORRIBLE REVIEWS AND SELL GRAY MARKET ITEMS!! YOU WILL GET RIPPED OFF!!!
DieCommie
08-29-2006, 08:26 PM
This is the archetype of "If it sounds to good to be true...."
You didnt get it right?
This is the archetype of "If it sounds to good to be true...."
You didnt get it right?
Nope.
Thought about all the things that could go wrong, and in searching, it appears they (and others) do every one and then some.
They ship missing items, charge major $$ for shipping, ship wrong items and insist on RMA numbers, pushy and rude. They really do work for their criminal $$. Be interesting if ANYONE has gotten a fair shake from guys like these. It's sad the FBI doesn't do their jobs and pursue these guys, they'll ruin the small-time Internet venture.
Decided just to wait until '07 for a 5D. By then, the 3D (or the like) will make the 5D fairly obsolete and I'll pick one up for $1500 or so. Save $1K under the going used price ($2500).
corndog
09-03-2006, 11:19 PM
Grey Market is very simple:
The cameras come from overseas, and the warranty is no good in the USA.
henryp
09-04-2006, 06:49 AM
Grey Market is very simple:
The cameras come from overseas, and the warranty is no good in the USA.
Most cameras come from overseas these days, if you're in the USA. The major difference between "kosher" and "grey market" is WHO brings the camera into the USA. If it's Nikon USA or Canon USA, the camera's "kosher." If it's another entity who then sells the camera to a retailer, it's "grey market."
This is perfectly legal, BTW, but IMHO a retailer should tell the consumer up front what's being offered.
JMBZ71
09-04-2006, 08:21 AM
I thought I had purchased a Canon SD700IS from what turned out to be a gray market dealer. Then I got the call from their HSG (hard-sell guy). It went something like this:
HSG: I want to confirm your shipping address so we can get your camera shipped out to you today...
Me: Yup, that's the correct shipping address.
HSG: BTW, you know this camera's an import, right?
Me: Aren't most digital cameras imports?
HSG: No. This is an imported model and it doesn't come with a manufacturer's warranty. But, you can purchase a warranty from us. Also, the factory battery is no good. You'll need to purchase a replacement battery from us that we'll ship charged so you can start using the camera right away.
Me: I think the factory battery's rated for something like 240 shots and charges in about 2 hours (Thanks Jeff K.) so I think it'll work fine for my needs.
HSG: What about the warranty?
Me: I'm not interested in a warranty other than the manufacturer's.
HSG: Our warranty's better that the manufacturer's.
Me: I'm not interested in a warranty unless it's the manufacturer's.
HSG: So, you're just gonna go without a warranty?
Me: Yup.
He hangs up.
Long story short: I received the camera (imported model: Ixus 800). I called their Customer Service# and got a RMA. Unlike the hard sell guy, their CS guy was actually courteous. Returned the camera and they refunded me the purchase price less shipping charges and a 5% restocking fee.
Lesson learned: If the deal sounds too good to be true, it is. IMO: What good's a digital camera without the manufacturer's warranty?
RichNY
09-04-2006, 08:40 AM
Most cameras come from overseas these days, if you're in the USA. The major difference between "kosher" and "grey market" is WHO brings the camera into the USA. If it's Nikon USA or Canon USA, the camera's "kosher." If it's another entity who then sells the camera to a retailer, it's "grey market."
This is perfectly legal, BTW, but IMHO a retailer should tell the consumer up front what's being offered.
Henry- When B+H offers items that are marked as imports does the store provide the warranty service that would normally be provided by the Canon/Nikon if a customer purchases a USA version?
If so, is it identical service: turn around time, shipping, etc. If not, where do you tell your customers to turn to should they need service?
*Goot gezugt. But BTW- most of the board isn't from the NY area and won't understand Yiddish :)
Sungrazer
09-06-2006, 11:49 AM
I know a little about this from an article I just read (Popular Photography?, Shutterbug?). Gray market items are imported and warrantied by someone other than, say, Canon (like B&H, who clearly advertise them as such). They are somewhat cheaper but not "too good to be true" cheap. For example, the 17-40 L is $10 cheaper. The 70-200/2.8 L is $40 cheaper. It's legal and you get the same products (beware anyone who says things like "the manual isn't in English"), but they are not warrantied by Canon and don't qualify for their rebates.
henryp
09-06-2006, 12:01 PM
Henry- When B+H offers items that are marked as imports does the store provide the warranty service that would normally be provided by the Canon/Nikon if a customer purchases a USA version?
If so, is it identical service: turn around time, shipping, etc. If not, where do you tell your customers to turn to should they need service?
Our site states, "B&H provides a warranty identical to the provisions and limitations of the manufacturer's warranty for such items, with the exception of the time period, which is equal to the term of the manufacturer's warranty or one (1) year, whichever is less. Your warranty card and/or sales slip must accompany all items."
In general, if you're in St, Louis (for example) I expect shipping to us in NYC or to Nikon/Canon, etc would be about the same. Offhand I cannot say turnaround would be exactly what you'd get from Nikon/Canon etc., but it should be reasonably close.
max1113
09-08-2006, 03:27 AM
bla bla bla, any way you can not proove this...
bla bla bla, any way you can not proove this...
LOL
let see... 1 post... could this be one of the scam site dudes? certainly a trust building post :D
bla bla bla, any way you can not proove this...
Yeah, Max is a drop-in from Brooklyn, I'd bet.
This is like the makers of the Yugo dropping in to tell Mercedes to prove that they are luxurious.
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.