PDA

View Full Version : Digital Camera Software Packages

quinn
11-10-2004, 10:35 AM
Hi everyone--

I am relatively new to Digital Photography and planning to purchase some software that would allow me to edit and enhance my photos. My new laptop came with a trial version of Paint Shop Photo Album 4 but that will soon be expiring.

Paint Shop Photo Album has been pretty easy to use and I figure it is one of the more "basic" packages. At this point I am considering whether to purchase one of the more comprehensive packages. I am considering the following 3:

1) Microsoft Digital Image Suite 10

2) Paint Shop Pro 9 (would love to hear if anyone has used both 8 and 9 and if 9 is worth the extra cost and is more user friendly)

3) Adobe Photo Elements

At this point I am leaning towards trying Microsoft's Digital Imgage suite because I use the camera on my cell phone alot and I heard this package is particularly good for improving these types of images.

I haven't seen the user interface for Paint Shop Pro 9 but version 8 seemed not quite as user friendly as I would have thought (granted I didn't spend too much time with it)

I have not used Adobe at all.

Any input from other users out there would be greatly appreciatd!

jamison55
11-10-2004, 12:30 PM
My $.02...

Photoshop Elements wins hands down. There's a reason that PS is the industry leader among pros - it does everything you need to edit pics and does it better than anyone else. Photoshop Elements does almost everything that its $600 big brother can do at a fraction of the price. The other software you mentioned can all do the basics, but you will soon outgrow it. It will take you a while to outgrow PSE...

Once you have purchased PSE, get this book: http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0735713928/qid=1100114902/sr=8-6/ref=pd_csp_6/104-0544573-0051943?v=glance&s=books&n=507846

My images improved 100% when I started using the well laid out, easy to understand techniques in the book.

quinn