PDA

View Full Version : Canon Powershot S3 Picture Quality

bahern
07-08-2006, 03:11 PM
Hi,
I was very excited about going on holiday with my new Canon Powershot S3 and had a great time taking lots of pictures and video on the camera, but was puzzled when I got back and loaded them onto my PC.

My videos were excellent quality and I was very pleased with them, but I was a little stunned at the quality of the photos. My photos were very grainy - all of them. The printed photos from the camera shop were fine and they said they didn't see anything wrong with them. But on both my PCs, the photos are very grainy and more grainy than my old Kodak DX6440.

Could I be using the camera wrong? I've got it set to the highest setting and superfine quality, so I'd expect superb quality photos. Instead I'm having to use Paint Shop Pro and run a filter on each photo to make them look better.

I have plenty of samples if someone would like to take a look at what I mean.

I'm still learning photography, so most of my pictures were taken in Sports mode and some were in Auto mode. I'm hoping there isn't a fault with the camera.

Cheers,
Brian

bahern
07-13-2006, 01:27 PM
Hi,
I have attached two photos to demonstrate what I mean.

IMG_0212sml.jpg is a section of an image taken in Sports mode from my Canon Powershot S3.

100_0946sml.jpg is another section of an image taken on my Kodak DX6440, in Auto mode on that camera.

The difference in quality is clear here.

Thanks,
Brian

truflip
07-13-2006, 01:41 PM
sportsmode usually uses high ISO between 200-800.. most of the time it uses 400... n thats when it gets really noise.. dont even bother with 800.. try simulating sports mode. use the manual modes like AV and M.. i kno its inconvenient but this is the cameras downside = High ISO's and sprots mode relies on high ISO. sorry =( i dont like it either but thats how it is

JTL
07-13-2006, 03:00 PM
Hi,
I have attached two photos to demonstrate what I mean.