PDA

View Full Version : Favorite camera settings for portrait/indoor low-light photos

tja111
07-03-2006, 10:35 AM
Hello everyone,

I am a novice photographer (studied photography in school 20 yrs ago). I Recently purchased a Canon 30D to capture as much
of my new babies (twin girls) lives as possible.

I have read many posts on many forums questioning the quality of the images from DSLR cameras from first time users. My understanding is that DSLR's differ greatly from P&S cameras both in depth of field and default processing of images. This apparently can lead novice user to end up with out of focus or soft photos, poor color saturation/quality etc.

This being said I would really love to hear from the experienced
photographers what their favorite settings are for portrait and
indoor photos as well as other types of photography.

In fact I have yet to see it, but this would make a great sticky; a matrix of favorite settings for different types of photography (portrait, nature, sports/action, etc.)

I realize the 30D has built in default settings for such things + ability to create repeatable custom settings, but I would like to hear from the pro's what their favorites are.

I also realize that experimentation is required to learn but I would like to narrow the range of experimentation to meaningful settings and improve my results from the start (not much time for experimentation when the gremlins are hungry).

I will be working with:
30D
EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 USM IS
580EX

Thanks,

Todd

tja111
07-03-2006, 11:09 AM
Oh,

One more question. I am still unclear how settings effect RAW images. I have read two schools of thought, which frankly confuse me.

Some say shooting in RAW negates need to set sharpness, contrast, color saturation etc. Post processing RAW images is easier.

While others say, setting these appropriately up front reduces post processing requirements and ultimately leads to better photos.

thx

cwphoto
07-03-2006, 03:57 PM
Oh,